| SteelaiRizel |
Now while i don't really care too much about being super efficient, i still want to be mechanically sound as in to not have the DM trying to rule things in my favor homebrew style or anything.I rather keep it to the rules as written.
So here is the scenario. I want to get a commission done of a dhampir wizard using two staves. I intend to go staff nexus of course and then have the other staff be one i buy or craft , though it will be just a staff of striking(the spell staff will also have a rune of striking). As i understand that you can only prepare one staff a day regardless. Or i don't go staff nexus and just pick a good staff i jive with. Either way i want to wield two.
I fully understand that with spells with a material cost, one way or another one of my hands will have to be free and that is easy enough. Just stab one staff into the ground and get casting. No biggie. (I do get ill have to use a interact action to pick it up again as compared to putting it down/dropping it)
My particular questions pertain to having said staves in my hands and casting the staff's spells. So here are the questions in order:
- 1. If casting from a staff, do you require a free hand for the somatic part? Or does waving the staff take care of this condition? 'Eschew Materials' has this wording "Unlike when providing somatic components, you still must have a hand completely free." So could i infer that moving the staff in a gesture would take care of the somatic?
- 2. If the staff does count, then could i have a staff in each hand and cast fine with the one that has spells?
- 3. Does the cantrip still scale like it normally does with cantrips if attached to a staff?
I intend to build myself well enough and grab the dual-weapon warrior archetype for fun. At least that way i can slug it out a bit if i need to. Remember i am not worrying about being super optimal, just fun.
Thank you for any answers in advance.
| shroudb |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
1)In general, you do NOT need a free hand for somatic components:
A somatic component is a specific hand movement or gesture that generates a magical nexus. The spell gains the manipulate trait and requires you to make gestures. You can use this component while holding something in your hand, but not if you are restrained or otherwise unable to gesture freely.
Spells that require you to touch the target require a somatic component. You can do so while holding something as long as part of your hand is able to touch the target (even if it’s through a glove or gauntlet).
2)due to the above, there's no problem if you hold two staves, or even if you hold a shield and a sword. As long as you are not restrained, you can provide Somatic materials.
3)yes
| SteelaiRizel |
1)In general, you do NOT need a free hand for somatic components:
Quote:A somatic component is a specific hand movement or gesture that generates a magical nexus. The spell gains the manipulate trait and requires you to make gestures. You can use this component while holding something in your hand, but not if you are restrained or otherwise unable to gesture freely.
Spells that require you to touch the target require a somatic component. You can do so while holding something as long as part of your hand is able to touch the target (even if it’s through a glove or gauntlet).
2)due to the above, there's no problem if you hold two staves, or even if you hold a shield and a sword. As long as you are not restrained, you can provide Somatic materials.
3)yes
Wonderful thank you for your timely reply, i can request my new art with a clear mind. Brilliant.
| Gisher |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
...
So here is the scenario. I want to get a commission done of a dhampir wizard using two staves. I intend to go staff nexus of course and then have the other staff be one i buy or craft , though it will be just a staff of striking(the spell staff will also have a rune of striking). As i understand that you can only prepare one staff a day regardless. Or i don't go staff nexus and just pick a good staff i jive with. Either way i want to wield two.
...
I'll note that it's more economical to use Doubling Rings (50 gp) than it is to separately put fundamental runes on that second staff. For example, a striking rune alone is 65 g.p. and adding a +1 potency rune brings the total cost up to 100 g.p.
Plus, with the rings, if you ever really need to free up a hand quickly you can just drop the ordinary staff without risking the loss of a valuable magic item.