Doubling Rings + Armory Bracelet?


Rules Discussion

Verdant Wheel

As title.

Doubling Rings + Armory Bracelet

Doubling Rings:

This item consists of two magically linked rings: an intricate, gleaming golden ring with a square-cut ruby, and a thick, plain iron ring. When you wield a melee weapon in the hand wearing the golden ring, the weapon’s fundamental runes are replicated onto any melee weapon you wield in the hand wearing the iron ring. (The fundamental runes are weapon potency and striking, which add an item bonus to attack rolls and extra weapon damage dice, respectively.) Any fundamental runes on the weapon in the hand wearing the iron ring are suppressed.

The replication functions only if you wear both rings, and it ends as soon as you cease wielding a melee weapon in one of your hands. Consequently, the benefit doesn’t apply to thrown attacks or if you’re holding a weapon but not wielding it (such as holding in one hand a weapon that requires two hands to wield).

Armory Bracelet:

Several small charms shaped like weapons hang from an armory bracelet, which is often brass. The bracelet has one charm each for the groups bow, brawling, club, dart, flail, hammer, knife, pick, polearm, shield, sling, spear, and sword. Rare versions of the armory bracelet include charms for firearms.

Activate [two-actions] envision, Interact Frequency once per day; Effect You pull one charm from the bracelet. The charm transforms into a weapon of your choice from the charm's weapon group. If the weapon requires ammunition, it appears with a quiver or pouch with 20 pieces of ammunition for the weapon. The weapon is a +1 striking weapon of the type you chose. After 1 minute, the weapon transforms into a non-magical version and remains until your next daily preparations. At that point, the weapon and any remaining ammunition crumble to dust and all the charms reappear on the bracelet. The weapon and ammunition created with the charm are noticeably different from others and can't be sold.

Q) Does Armory Bracelet create "runes" when it imbues a created temporary weapon with "+1 striking" (or better)?
Q) If so, do the Doubling Rings effectively transfer the enhancement to the hand with the other weapon?
Q) Can my rogue use a bead to improve his main weapon in this way with the Moderate version!?!

Cheers
=)


I suppose I would allow it, but it's going to be worse than investing the full price of weapons like one normally would. And it may not sound like much, but that missing to hit or damage dice hurts (after it reverts to a lesser versions after 1 minute).


Meh, you aren't thinking gimmicky enough. The Armory Bracelet doesn't say that the Runes crumble to dust the next morning. So just spend a day transferring the runes from the temporary item to one of your permanent weapons.

Horizon Hunters

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Farien wrote:
Meh, you aren't thinking gimmicky enough. The Armory Bracelet doesn't say that the Runes crumble to dust the next morning. So just spend a day transferring the runes from the temporary item to one of your permanent weapons.

The weapons are only magical for 1 minute, they don't actually have runes on them.


As a more serious answer, it is a bit of an open question whether temporary runes can themselves be used for replicating via other rune replication items and abilities.

Similar questions would be:

Can I draw a dagger from a Thrower's Bandolier with the hand having the gold band Doubling Ring and have its runes copied over to the longsword in my other hand?

If I have a shortsword and a repeating hand crossbow linked up with Blazons of Shared Power, can I use Champion's Blade Ally (with Radiant Blade Spirit) to put a flaming rune effect on one of them that then gets copied to the other?

Verdant Wheel

Cordell Kintner wrote:
Farien wrote:
Meh, you aren't thinking gimmicky enough. The Armory Bracelet doesn't say that the Runes crumble to dust the next morning. So just spend a day transferring the runes from the temporary item to one of your permanent weapons.
The weapons are only magical for 1 minute, they don't actually have runes on them.

Source?

Not only in the rules, but of the magic.

Consider:

Runic Weapon:

(◆◆) Spell 1
[Concentrate] [Manipulate]
Traditions arcane, divine, occult, primal
Range touch; Targets 1 weapon that is unattended or wielded by a willing creature
Duration 1 minute

The weapon glimmers with magic as temporary runes carve down its length. The target becomes a +1 striking weapon, gaining a +1 item bonus to attack rolls and increasing the number of weapon damage dice to two.

Horizon Hunters

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Armory Bracelet wrote:
The weapon is a +1 striking weapon of the type you chose. After 1 minute, the weapon transforms into a non-magical version and remains until your next daily preparations.

The item is not written with Runic Weapon in mind either, since that's a remastered spell, and this item was released in Treasure Vault. All we had then was Magic Weapon which said:

Magic Weapon wrote:
The weapon glimmers with magic and energy. The target becomes a +1 striking weapon, gaining a +1 item bonus to attack rolls and increasing the number of weapon damage dice to two.

No mention of runes there.

Even if there are runes, I was replying to the suggestion that you can Craft them off the weapon, which you can not since they only last for 1 minute, and crafting takes an entire day.


Even with hasty Crafting of some sort, Runic Weapon explicitly says they're temporary runes, so they'll still fade away no matter if later on another item.

Verdant Wheel

Feel as though this thread got derailed with a silly proposition!

=)


I don't think the rule books have an answer for you. They don't say one way or the other whether a replicated rune is itself valid as a source for further replication.

Some players will find that to be perfectly reasonable.

Others will find that to be too much of an exploit.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Doubling Rings + Armory Bracelet? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.