Start of turn triggers


Rules Discussion


For example, the new kineticist class has a feat that lets you use a stance impulse with trigger: your turn begins.

One of the stances has the following: at the start of each of your turns...

So my question is, if I activate my stance with a triggered free action at start of turn, is it too late to use the stance's ability, or am I still at the "turn start" step.

I'm curious because I assume you can use multiple abilities that trigger at turn start if you have them even though after the first you're not exactly at turn start anymore. So I'm not sure if that still applies to things that are only possible because of other start of turn abilities in the first place.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Start Your Turn

ARchives Of Nethys wrote:

Many things happen automatically at the start of your turn—it's a common point for tracking the passage of time for effects that last multiple rounds. At the start of each of your turns, take these steps in any order you choose:

If you created an effect lasting for a certain number of rounds, reduce the number of rounds remaining by 1. The effect ends if the duration is reduced to 0. For example, if you cast a spell that lasts 3 rounds on yourself during your first turn of a fight, it would affect you during that turn, decrease to 2 rounds of duration at the start of your second turn, decrease to 1 round of duration at the start of your third turn, and expire at the start of your fourth turn.
You can use 1 free action or reaction with a trigger of “Your turn begins” or something similar.
If you're dying, roll a recovery check.
Do anything else that is specified to happen at the start of your turn, such as regaining Hit Points from fast healing or regeneration.

The last step of starting your turn is always the same.

Regain your 3 actions and 1 reaction. If you haven't spent your reaction from your last turn, you lose it—you can't “save” actions or reactions from one turn to use during the next turn. Some abilities or conditions (such as quickened, slowed, and stunned) can change how many actions you regain and whether you regain your reaction. If you lose actions and gain additional actions (such as if you're both quickened and slowed), you choose which actions to lose. In-depth details on gaining and losing actions are here

You can use 1 free action or reaction with a trigger of “Your turn begins” or something similar. seems to be the relevant sentence.

Horizon Hunters

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Rules for what happens at the start of your turn.

The specific ones you are asking about are

"You can use 1 free action or reaction with a trigger of “Your turn begins” or something similar."

"Do anything else that is specified to happen at the start of your turn, such as regaining Hit Points from fast healing or regeneration."

You can do these in any order before you regain your actions for the round.

However, you need to read carefully as the stances might say something like "At the start of each of your turns, you can do X as a free action." which means you can't do that after entering a stance with a free action, as you only get one.


Yeah, it does say as a free action. Thanks guys.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Start of turn triggers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.