Throwing Shield and action economy


Rules Questions


A player would like to say that the free action involved with a throwing shield includes the attack, so with a blink back belt, returning etc it becomes technically an infinite attack.
I read that the free action is the unclasping of the shield, and when an attack is made it becomes a standard attack, or can also be used in a full round attack as part of the attack.

......From throwing shield description-
"This shield is designed for throwing and has specially designed straps allowing you to unclasp and throw it as a free action. Tower shields cannot be throwing shields."

What say ye?

EDIT
Sorry accidentally posted in the mutant 2e forums.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

1. Blink back belt? Full attack? You're asking this in the wrong forum.

2. There's no way any halfway rational player actually BELIEVES they can make infinite attacks for free, and there's no reason to treat the idea with anything except for the flat dismissal it deserves.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

In mutant 2e there is also a Throwing Shield.

It does very clearly only allow a free action for detaching the shield in preparation for throwing - the actual thrown attack is an action as normal.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Throwing Shield and action economy All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions