
olor89 |

Hello, I have two questions:
1-The bladebound Magus can spend 2 arcane pool of his black blade to deal force damage, but what those this means? Can it attack the touch AC of the enemies or not?
2-Enduring Armor of the Archmage (Mythic Adventures) is an armor made by force. Does it means that it counts as touch AC or not? Because if i remember it can stop only incorporeal touch attacks. But those attacks are in fact touch attacks.
Sorry i'm a bit confuse about those two.

zza ni |

first the background info.:
link to the bladebound magus archtype
next what you must understand is that there is a difference between the general rules of touch attacks and touch attacks from incorporeal creatures\source specifically. (or things that mimic this)
in general touch attacks (such as from spells like 'chill touch' or many energy only attacks like an alchemist's bombs) are attacks that do not care for the target's armor bonus, shield bonus or natural ac bonus since they are able to take effect by mere touching the target.
as for incorporeal touch attacks (such as the ones a ghost or shadow might have), they are using the touch attack rules but that is not because they are able have effect by mere touching the target. Rather it is because they pass through the same kind of ac bonus that normal touch attacks don't care about. -unless said armor is made out of something they can't pass through such as a force effect. (there might be other such barriers, i think some 'ectoplasmic' effects and other incorporeal objects also hamper this kind of attacks)
so while normal touch attacks and incorporeal touch attacks would both ignore normal armor bonus, shield bonus and natural ac bonus. the reason for both to do so is different. and as such in case of force armor (such as from 'mage armor' spell or the archmage ability you brought) or a force shield bonus (such as from the 'shield' spell) a normal touch attack (such as from the chill touch spell for example) would still ignore such force ac bonus while an incorporeal attack would not.
all in all for your questions:
1. the bladebound ability is to use an energy effect instead of his normal damage. as this ability doesn't state that it turn the attack into a touch attack it still must pass the normal armor of the target and is a normal attack. the damage is simply replaced with a force damage which in turn would ignore normal dr and other common resistances (but in turn might be suspectable to other defensive abilities such as force resistance or immunity. such as an Aether elemental have).
2. the force armor would only count against incorporeal touch attack (such as a ghost or shadow might have) but would be ignored against other touch attacks (such as chill touch or an alchemist's bomb)
the "Accurate Strike (Ex)" arcana which cost 2 points to activate and is available from level 9 is an ability that would make all the magus's melee weapon attacks until end of turn as touch attacks. such an ability would ignore even force effects, the same as any normal touch attack.

Mysterious Stranger |

The answer to the first question is no you still have to hit the full AC not just the touch attack. A weapon dealing force damage can damage an incorporeal creature, but does not make it a touch attack.
An incorporeal touch attack does not ignore armor bonuses from force effects. So Enduring armor will stop a incorporeal touch attack, but not a normal touch attack.

![]() |

1-The bladebound Magus can spend 2 arcane pool of his black blade to deal force damage, but what those this means? Can it attack the touch AC of the enemies or not?
No. It does "force damage" which is like doing "fire damage." It just changes the type of damage, not the attack roll.
2-Enduring Armor of the Archmage (Mythic Adventures) is an armor made by force. Does it means that it counts as touch AC or not? Because if i remember it can stop only incorporeal touch attacks. But those attacks are in fact touch attacks.
It counts as regular armor (not touch).
What's throwing you off is that incorporeal creatures interact with force effects in special ways. Incorporeal creatures often make attacks that bypass armor, but AC bonuses that come from a force effect do apply vs. those attacks. Basically, normal matter (leather armor, steel shields, etc.) can't block the limb of a Shadow, but mage armor can. So "incorporeal touch" is its own special thing.
Similarly, incorporeal creatures usually take half damage from all corporeal sources (a magic sword, a fireball, etc.). But force damage does full damage to incorporeal creatures. It still doesn't target touch unless the effect says it does.
Those rules are specific to incorporeal creatures.