Dueling Parry and Flying Blade


Rules Discussion


I know at first glance these two feats are going to be at cross purposes, but I wanted to double-check something.

The text for Dueling Parry says:

Requirements You are wielding only a single one-handed melee weapon and have your other hand or hands free.
You can parry attacks against you with your weapon. You gain a +2 circumstance bonus to AC until the start of your next turn as long as you continue to meet the requirements.

I had wondered if I can get the quick draw feat at some point or just have to eat the extra action, can I draw the dagger/other thrown weapon, chuck it and then since I have the hand free re-gain the circumstance bonus? Or would I have to spend the action after throwing the weapon?

Oh, and before I froget again, Flying Blade's text is:
Prerequisites precise strike
You've learned to apply your flashy techniques to thrown weapons as easily as melee attacks. When you have panache, you apply your precise strike damage on ranged Strikes you make with a thrown weapon within that weapon's first range increment. The thrown weapon must be an agile or finesse weapon. This also allows you to make a thrown weapon ranged Strike for Confident Finisher and any other finisher that includes a Strike that can benefit from your precise strike.

Thanks in advance!


As soon as you no longer meet the requirements of Dueling Parry, then the benefits end. You would need to use the Dueling Parry action again after you meet the requirements once more in order to get the benefit restored.

So even Quick Draw would cause the requirement to be violated even if only for less than the length of the one action. At some point you would have to either be wielding a second weapon in order to make a thrown Strike with it, or you would have to throw the single weapon that you are wielding and would be left wielding no weapons.

Maybe there are some shenanigans with a free-hand weapon. Holding a dagger in a hand that is also wearing a gauntlet. Then you could throw the dagger and immediately still be wielding the gauntlet. But that seems like a very strange edge case that is rather sub-optimal.

Liberty's Edge

You'll probably have better results with Buckler Expertise, since it's the same AC bonus and they both have a level 10 feat that puts you into a stance that keeps the bonus going.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
breithauptclan wrote:
Maybe there are some shenanigans with a free-hand weapon. Holding a dagger in a hand that is also wearing a gauntlet. Then you could throw the dagger and immediately still be wielding the gauntlet. But that seems like a very strange edge case that is rather sub-optimal.

Yeah, free hand weapons are the way to go here: just use the free weapon hand as the hand you throw with and you're good to go.

PS: you could also Juggle 2+ weapons at once and still qualify after throwing one of them.


graystone wrote:
breithauptclan wrote:
Maybe there are some shenanigans with a free-hand weapon. Holding a dagger in a hand that is also wearing a gauntlet. Then you could throw the dagger and immediately still be wielding the gauntlet. But that seems like a very strange edge case that is rather sub-optimal.

Yeah, free hand weapons are the way to go here: just use the free weapon hand as the hand you throw with and you're good to go.

PS: you could also Juggle 2+ weapons at once and still qualify after throwing one of them.

I don't quite follow how either of those options would would work?I assume once I toss the main weapon, I'm breaking the parry since I no longer have a single one-handed weapon to parry with.

How on earth would juggling another weapon not break the parry? I'm open to the idea as it's quite shenanigans, but my DM would never go for it, I'm afraid - at least without an almost unassailable argument.


Flames of Chaos wrote:
I don't quite follow how either of those options would would work?I assume once I toss the main weapon, I'm breaking the parry since I no longer have a single one-handed weapon to parry with.

As soon as the thrown weapon leaves your hand, you can now wield your free hand weapon: at no time are you without a weapon in that hand.

Free-Hand
Source Core Rulebook pg. 282
"You can use the hand covered by your free-hand weapon to wield other items, perform manipulate actions, and so on. You can't attack with a free-hand weapon if you're wielding anything in that hand or otherwise using that hand. When you're not wielding anything and not otherwise using the hand, you can use abilities that require you to have a hand free as well as those that require you to be wielding a weapon in that hand. Each of your hands can have only one free-hand weapon on it."

Flames of Chaos wrote:
How on earth would juggling another weapon not break the parry? I'm open to the idea as it's quite shenanigans, but my DM would never go for it, I'm afraid - at least without an almost unassailable argument.

It's in the rules for the feat: "You can wield weapons you are Juggling (but not shields or other items) as long as they can be wielded in one hand. For example, while you Juggle a dagger in one hand and wield a shield in the other, you are wielding the dagger but still have a free hand to Cast a Spell with a material component. Juggling two or more weapons with one hand doesn’t allow you to use feats that require two weapons each held in a different hand." As above, if you have 2 weapons you're juggling, you can opt to wield either one while continuing your juggle action. If you throw one, you can then just opt to wield the other and there isn't any action to do so, so you are never without a weapon wielded.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Dueling Parry and Flying Blade All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.