Bladebound Magus's Black blade


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Is a Bladebound Magus's blackblade considered an Item Familiar?


What is an item familiar?

The Exchange

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Are you perhaps referring to something like the Mythic Archmage path ability “Transformative Familiar?” It is not.

The black blade is intelligent, but is not a familiar. You can’t use any feats or abilities that apply to a familiar.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You are the Blade familiar. ;-)


The only reference I can find to an item familiar is in 3.5. Pathfinder is a standalone game that started out being somewhat compatible with AD&D 3.5, but now most GMs don’t allow 3.5 content. In 3.5 to gain an item familiar you have to take the feat.

The Blackblade class feature grants you exactly what it says, no more no less. So, it would not gain any of the benefits from being an “Item Familiar”. If the GM allows 3rd party content (3.5 should be considered 3rd party content), then he needs to decide how it interacts with the game.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Quote:
A magus with this class feature cannot take the familiar magus arcana, and cannot have a familiar of any kind, even from another class.
Quote:
A black blade is bonded to a particular magus, much like a familiar, but in more of a partnership than a master-servant relationship.

So, it's not strange that people would think it's a familiar. It is very adjacent to being a familiar. But it isn't a familiar

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bladebound Magus's Black blade All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions