Belafon
|
a 5th lvl wiz/ 5th lvl summoner takes balanced summoning can he use it on his summon monster 1 ability ???
Since the Augment Summoning feat does apply to spell-like abilities, Balanced Summoning should apply as well.
| Claxon |
Well, Augment Summoning is a feat while Balanced Summoning is a wizard Arcane Discovery.
I'm not sure we can conclude or extend that the later should work the same way as the former.
However, they use somewhat similar language that would appear to restrict to actually casting the spell, but we have an FAQ that says it works with SLAs.
I would be inclined to say that if you use Summon Monster (not other summons) as a spell like ability it probably can benefit from Balanced Summoning.
Keep in mind this is a 10th level character with only 3rd level spells when they could have had 5th as a straight wizard and that their summoner SLA could have been Summon Monster 5 instead of Summon Monster 3.
So, let them have their 2 summons of opposing alignment. Remember, they could have spent no resources and had a 66% chance to be able to summon at least 2 of the same creatures from the list 1 level below the level of the summon monster spell (1d3).
Aside from some maybe very specific situations, this is honestly not worth the investment. And would have been much better to just go straight summoner.
| Claxon |
To give a specific example, instead of having a celestial wolf and a fiendish hyena by using Balanced Summoning on SM3, a 10th level summoner could have had 1 bearded devil or 1d3 rhinoceros.
Splitting your levels like this honestly just makes you worse at summoning. And even if you went straight wizard and wanted to focus on summoning, 33% of the time you could summon as many creatures from the same list. 33% of the time you would summon more, and 33% of the time you would summon less. Unless you're getting unexpected mileage out of having opposing alignment summons (seems unlikely) it's probably not even worth the discovery.
Diego Rossi
|
Balanced Summoning (Champions of Balance pg. 20): You maintain balance by calling on opposing forces when summoning. Whenever you cast a summon monster spell, you can summon two creatures from a single list 1 or more levels lower than the level of the spell. The two creatures must have alignments that are opposite along at least one axis (chaotic and lawful or evil and good). For example, if you cast summon monster III, you could summon a celestial wolf and a fiendish hyena from the 2nd-level list.
Paizo has been somewhat inconsistent in how the class abilities apply to spells from other classes, but I think that, in this instance, this FAQ applies:
Sorcerer: Do the bonuses granted from Bloodline Arcana apply to all of the spells cast by the sorcerer, or just those cast from the sorcerer's spell list?
The Bloodline Arcana powers apply to all of the spells cast by characters of that bloodline, not just those cast using the sorcerer's spell slots.
General rule: If a class ability modifies your spellcasting, it applies to your spells from all classes, not just spells from the class that grants the ability. (The exception is if the class ability specifically says it only applies to spells from that class.)
posted October 2010 | back to top