slayer


Rules Questions


if a pc has 5levels of slayer(Ankou’s Shadow) and uses the shadow double ability can he use the bodyguard feat with shadow doubles???


Ankou's Shadow

Bodyguard

The Slayer could use the Bodyguard feat to protect his doubles, but the doubles cannot make AoO's... even though the doubles can use Aid Another, they still do not possess special abilities that alter the effects of aiding another.

At level 10, one might argue that the Slayer could divide his actions and abilities [including AoO/Bodyguard] between himself and his doubles... but you asked about level 5.


what about the doubles using items?? and what if u take levels in bard does the doubles get to use bardic performance??


After 10 levels, "He can divide his actions between his actual body and his shadow doubles, using them as the origin point for attacks or abilities." So yes, he could have his Bardic Performance originate from a double... but unless this is a gestalt combination, the Bardic Performance will be so far behind it won't matter. Most performances don't care about the origin of the performance, so long as people are within range. As a Bard, I have never had difficulty keeping allies in range, so having a shadow be the point of origin really does very little... Pathfinder doesn't even care which direction anything is facing, so having your shadow double perform is probably fine. Still can't have more than one Bardic Performance active at a time, though.


what about using items and feats to aid allies??


The doubles act as mirror images, so are not real. They do not have feats and any gear it has is part of the illusion. They cannot pick up anything or interact in any way other than what a mirror image can do except what the archetype specifically states.


but it says it has gear??


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Although a shadow double appears to duplicate the ankou’s shadow’s gear, this gear is part of its form; a shadow double’s gear cannot be destroyed, dropped, or stolen.

No what it says is that it appears to have gear, not that it has gear. That is a significant difference.


so can it benefit from items???


For the most part it cannot benefit from items.

At first level the duplicate functions as a single mirror image. As you level up it gains other abilities as described in the archetype. At 5th level it can provide flanking and use the aid another. At 10th level the character can use them as the origin of its attacks and abilities. This allows the character to make an attack or perform some other action, but it would originate from the duplicate. At this level the duplicate cannot perform any independent actions except provide flanking and aid another. At 15th level the duplicates can perform simple actions on their own as if they were an unseen servant. at 20th you gain the ability to unfetter your duplicates. At that point they can do pretty much anything you can for 1 minute, but anyone you attack gets a save to realize they are not real. If they make their save you only do 20% damage, and any abilities only have 20% chance of working. These are the only things the duplicate can do.

With the 10th level ability, you are the one doing the actions. Since you are the one performing the action, you can use your items. Basically, you do the action except it originates from the location of the duplicate. The 2oth level ability would also allow you to use your items, but if the target makes it save it may not work.


so at 10th i can use the items??


Yes, you can use your items at 10th level. You cannot use any other items or pick up any items where the duplicates are. You also do not gain any extra actions, you split your actions between yourself and your duplicates.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / slayer All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions