Flexible spellcasting and retraining


Rules Discussion


If I want to retrain my Druid into flexible spellcasting, would that need two retrains? One for L1 to replace regular spellcasting to flexible spell preparation and another for L2 to replace the class feat to flexible spellcaster dedication? How does that interact with the requirement that “ If you choose this class archetype, you must select Flexible Spellcaster Dedication as your 2nd-level class feat. ”

(And in actual fact, would need one more to train out my ancient elf racial feat from L1 because I can’t take another dedication feat until I’ve taken 2 other archetype feats from that one. Sigh. )


As I see it, class archetypes slipped from retraining rules:

CRB wrote:
You can retrain feats, skills, and some selectable class features. You can’t retrain your ancestry, heritage, background, class, or ability scores.

So retraining them is even more GM-dependent than usual. And the only answer is: "Ask your GM".

Guidance from CRB
Guidance from GMG


I don't see anything requiring them to be taken at 1 or saying that they can't be retrained into or out of. I don't think you'd need to do any more retraining than just taking the dedication feat.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Flexible spellcasting and retraining All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.