Hand of the apprentice.


Rules Discussion


So Ezren manages to score a +1 potency rune on his staff. When he throws the staff using the focus spell, is the modifier from the rune included in his attack roll?


Potency runes do not affect spell attack rolls.


HumbleGamer wrote:
Potency runes do not affect spell attack rolls.

That is not always true, but in this case it is since the spell doesn't say you roll as if it was a melee strike, only that you do damage as if it was one. That means striking and property runes on the staff activate, but the potency rune doesn't add to the spell attack roll as HG says


I figured as much. Oh well, plus 1 wouldn't matter much anyway, right? :-)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Hand of the apprentice. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.