Inspire Competence - rolling a nat 1 for a result of 20 - failure or success?


Rules Discussion

Horizon Hunters

My bard has a +19 on his Performance checks to Aid (using Inspire Competence). If he rolls a natural 1, for a total of 20, is the result:

A. Failure. A "20" is a "success" but the natural 1 reduces this by one degree to "failure."

B. Success. A "20" is a "success" but a natural 1 reduces this by one degree to "failure" and Inspire Competence says that "if you roll a failure, you get a success instead."

C. Something else I haven't thought of.

Rules text of Inspire Competence wrote:

Your encouragement inspires your ally to succeed at a task. This counts as having taken sufficient preparatory actions to Aid your ally on a skill check of your choice, regardless of the circumstances. When you later use the Aid reaction, you can roll Performance instead of the normal skill check, and if you roll a failure, you get a success instead. If you are legendary in Performance, you automatically critically succeed.

The GM might rule that you can’t use this ability if the act of encouraging your ally would interfere with the skill check (such as a check to Sneak quietly or maintain a disguise).

Horizon Hunters

3 people marked this as a favorite.

B: When you have things that modify your degree of success, you always apply Nat 1 and Nat 20 modifications first. At that point, you have rolled a Failure which is then modified by the spell.

Further, you can't increase or decrease a roll by more than one step. So if you do both at the same time they basically cancel out.


Oskar Z. wrote:
Rules text of Inspire Competence wrote:
The GM might rule that you can’t use this ability if the act of encouraging your ally would interfere with the skill check (such as a check to Sneak quietly or maintain a disguise).

Gotta say, I love that "might". So you're in a case where you could try to inspire competence, but it would obviously interfere. At that point, it's explicitly GM's prerogative whether or not you can use it.

"Bluff, bluff, bluff the stupid ogre."

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Cordell Kintner wrote:
you can't increase or decrease a roll by more than one step.

That's just for Saving Throws.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Inspire Competence - rolling a nat 1 for a result of 20 - failure or success? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.