Question about style strike and archetypes


Rules Questions


On the Monk page, the writing for style strike says "At 5th level, a monk can learn one type of style strike. Whenever he makes a flurry of blows, he can designate one of his unarmed strikes as a style strike. This attack is resolved as normal, but it has an additional effect depending on the type of strike chosen."

The way this is written makes it seem like if you do not use flurry of blows, you cannot use a style strike. There are monk archetypes which give up the flurry of blows class feature but say nothing about the style strike class feature. However if you effectively lose style strikes when you lose flurry of blows, that's losing 2 huge class features to gain 1. That seems...unnecessarily punishing. Am I missing something here?


you can use normal attack or flurry of blow to apply the style strike
the pproblem is that flurry give you some penaltys in the attack when making extra attack so you need to focus in incrementing your attack because if the attack whit the style strike its a mis when usin the flurry of blow (whit its penaaltys) its still count as used


None of the Unchained Archetypes give up Flurry of Blows.

Chained archetypes are not compatible with the Unchained Monk (AKA the better one that gets Style Strikes)


M4vis wrote:
There are monk archetypes which give up the flurry of blows class feature but say nothing about the style strike class feature.

As Minigiant said, there are actually no archetypes like that. Only archetypes on this list are legal for unMonk.

Zepheri wrote:

you can use normal attack or flurry of blow to apply the style strike

the pproblem is that flurry give you some penaltys in the attack when making extra attack so you need to focus in incrementing your attack because if the attack whit the style strike its a mis when usin the flurry of blow (whit its penaaltys) its still count as used

How do I phrase that without sounding mean... Er, do you even know what Style Strikes are? It's a feature of the Unchained Monk, which's FoB does not have a penalty, and it's descriptions says "Whenever he makes a flurry of blows, he can designate one of his unarmed strikes as a style strike."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about style strike and archetypes All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.