"Cast into Time" and readied actions?


Rules Discussion


The spell "cast into time" states that the targeted creature "disappears until the end of your turn".

Is it correct that others can ready actions for "when X creature falls into time.." in order to take that action while the target is still gone, since it's taken as a reaction during the caster's turn?


Yes. If someone has spend the 2 actions to ready a single action, he can take it as a reaction when the trigger happens.

I don't really get what you are asking though?

If you mean something like "everyone goes before the caster, and spend their round readying a "Stride out of the room when X dissapears".

The caster casts the spell, everyone else spends their reaction, the target returns and now only sees the caster in the room.

Then, sure. Why wouldn't it work?


I believe he is asking whether "when X creature falls into time.." is a valid trigger or not. I don't see why not.

You might re-word your trigger to use what the character can perceive though, to avoid potential argument. It could be "when X creature disappears" (or "when X creature reappears" depending on your goal) since the team may not know what "casting into time" looks like. If the caster has briefed the team, or has used the spell before, then you could be more broad with the trigger I think, since spells are described as generally having various emanations and the team could know what to look for.


hyphz wrote:

The spell "cast into time" states that the targeted creature "disappears until the end of your turn".

Is it correct that others can ready actions for "when X creature falls into time.." in order to take that action while the target is still gone, since it's taken as a reaction during the caster's turn?

You could ready on a similar but not gamist trigger, but it really doesn't do a whole lot unless you are trying to beat a high Fast Healing target. But even then, burning 2 actions and a reaction isn't very helpful compared to simply taking your turn normally, since you gain nothing for an enemy reappearing at the end of the spellcaster's current turn.

You might have had a case if the spell lasted until the end of the next turn, but as is, you lose actions for no meaningful benefit.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
hyphz wrote:

The spell "cast into time" states that the targeted creature "disappears until the end of your turn".

Is it correct that others can ready actions for "when X creature falls into time.." in order to take that action while the target is still gone, since it's taken as a reaction during the caster's turn?

You could ready on a similar but not gamist trigger, but it really doesn't do a whole lot unless you are trying to beat a high Fast Healing target. But even then, burning 2 actions and a reaction isn't very helpful compared to simply taking your turn normally, since you gain nothing for an enemy reappearing at the end of the spellcaster's current turn.

You might have had a case if the spell lasted until the end of the next turn, but as is, you lose actions for no meaningful benefit.

I could see it being used to move past a blocking creature.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / "Cast into Time" and readied actions? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.