Feeder of the Depths Deadly Bleeding Special Ability


Rules Questions


Hello! My table is currently fighting Elder Maw, a feeder in the depths! Elder Maw rolled a 19 on his first bite, which triggered his Deadly Bleeding special ability. I was wondering if some rules gurus could answer a few questions.

*Here* is a link to the monster statblock.

Deadly Bleeding text wrote:
Deadly Bleeding (Su) A feeder in the depth’s bite causes bleeding wounds that resist healing. The first bite that damages a creature deals 1d4 points of bleed damage, and each subsequent bite increases the amount of bleed by 1d4. Stopping the bleeding requires a successful DC 20 Heal check or the application of any magical healing. However, anyone attempting to cast a healing spell on a creature suffering from deadly bleeding must succeed at a DC 20 caster level check or the spell doesn’t affect the bleeding creature. The save DC is Constitution-based.

1. At what point in combat does the Deadly Bleeding damage occur?

2. Is the "subsequent bite" literally any bite that hits? Or is it implying any subsequent critical (19-20) bite?
The wording is a bit confusing. It says "The first bite that damages a creature deals 1d4 points of bleed damage, and each subsequent bite increases the amount of bleed by 1d4."

3. Also, if the damage happens at the start of the victim's next round, how do I calculate the save DC?
The last sentence of the Deadly Bleeding paragraph only says "The save DC is Constitution-based."

Thanks in advance! <3


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Bleed damage occurs at the start of the effected creature's turn.

Deadly bleeding doesn't have anything to do with criticals. It takes effect on any hit.

The Feeder in the Depth's constitution isn't likely to change over the course of an encounter, but if it does the save DC (actually the DC of the caster level check) would only change if it bit a creature again after its Con changed.


The caster level check, and the heal skill check would increase if the feeders con increased for some reason like Avr said (or decreased if the feeder lost con).

The way the stat block writes the damage:

"Melee bite +15/+10 (2d6+10/19–20 plus deadly bleeding)"

Is somewhat misleading, the deadly bleeding always happens, not just on a critical, even though the way it is written could be read in that way.


Thanks again for your responses.

avr wrote:
Deadly bleeding doesn't have anything to do with criticals. It takes effect on any hit.

So if Elder Maw has two successful bite attacks in one round, the victim would take 2d4 damage at the start of the next round?


Nope, bleed doesn't stack that way. It's just the highest of the 2 d4 rolls. Which sounds annoying to roll but that's what it says.

Liberty's Edge

avr wrote:
Nope, bleed doesn't stack that way. It's just the highest of the 2 d4 rolls. Which sounds annoying to roll but that's what it says.

Actually, the ability says: "and each subsequent bite increases the amount of bleed by 1d4.", so the Bleed damage from Deadly Bleeding is an exception to the general rule that bleed doesn't stack.

As it is a CR 8 monster it is a powerful ability at that level.
Blood feast feed on the bleeding, so it is a powerful combo.
The other abilities and stats are well within a CR 8 monster range.
It is an aquatic creature, and that increases the danger for a normal party.

In the water, I would rank it as a CR 9-10 encounter, depending on the player group composition, if there is dry land it can be considered a CR 6-7 encounter.


Diego's right. I failed to read that part of the deadly bleeding ability and went off the general rule which doesn't apply in this case.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Feeder of the Depths Deadly Bleeding Special Ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions