Questions About the Feral Gnasher


Rules Questions


Firstly, would I take the -4 penalty to grappling for not having both hands free if I'm holding a weapon even if I'm using the grab ability?
And, does holding a light shield count as still having a hand free for grappling?
Finally, for something like Wicked Improvisation, do unarmed attacks qualify as natural weapons?
Wicked Improvisation (Ex): At 12th level, a feral gnasher becomes more capable with improvised weapons and natural attacks. The feral gnasher gains a +1 competence bonus on damage rolls when using natural attacks or improvised weapons while raging. At 14th level and every two levels thereafter, the damage bonus increases by +1. This increase is not precision damage and is thus multiplied on a critical hit. This ability replaces trap sense +4.
Thanks guys


1) No. Grappling via Grab utilizes whatever Natural weapon the Grab is associated with for all aspects of the Grapple. In the case of the Feral Gnasher, your Grab is on a Bite, as such, you suffer no penalties from holding anything in your hands.
2) Unfortunately, unless you are a Monk or otherwise possess an ability similar to a Monk's Unarmed Strike feature that explicitly treats your Unarmed Strikes as Natural Weapons, your Unarmed Strikes are NOT Natural Weapons.

Source PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 142

A Medium character deals 1d3 points of nonlethal damage with an unarmed strike. A Small character deals 1d2 points of nonlethal damage. A monk or any character with the Improved Unarmed Strike feat can deal lethal or nonlethal damage with unarmed strikes, at his discretion. The damage from an unarmed strike is considered weapon damage for the purposes of effects that give you a bonus on weapon damage rolls.

An unarmed strike is always considered a light weapon. Therefore, you can use the Weapon Finesse feat to apply your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier to attack rolls with an unarmed strike. Unarmed strikes do not count as natural weapons (see Combat).


Thanks!

Liberty's Edge

1) It depends on your form, if you are humanoid you suffer the penalty:

CRB wrote:

Humanoid creatures without two free hands attempting to

grapple a foe take a –4 penalty on the combat maneuver roll.

There is nothing in the text of Grab that changes that rule.

2) No, a light shield precludes you from attacking with that arm.

CRB wrote:
A light steel shield’s weight lets you carry other items in that hand, although you cannot use weapons with it.

Several FAQs explain what is a free hand.

As a house rule you can have Grab not penalized if your hands aren't free, it is not illogical, but RAW it requires them if you are anhumanoid.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Questions About the Feral Gnasher All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions