Can a 9th level Efreeti Bloodline Sorcerer with Efreeti form bloodline ability (a variant of giant form I), use enlarg person afterwards t increse his size further


Rules Questions


I'm currently playing a halfling efreeti bloodline sorcerer now at 9th level, i now gain the Efreeti Form (Su): At 9th level, you gain the ability to assume the form of an efreeti once per day. This acts like the spell giant form I, except you only use it to become an efreeti and its duration is 1 round per level. While in this form, you also gain an efreeti’s heat ability.

and was wondering if it would get the size increase if i cast enlarge person on myself after activating this ability?

The Exchange

Nope, afraid not.

Enlarge Person wrote:
...Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack.

and

CRB page 212 - Polymorph effects wrote:
You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.


Belafon wrote:

Nope, afraid not.

Enlarge Person wrote:
...Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack.

and

CRB page 212 - Polymorph effects wrote:
You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.

The size increase stacking rules are the only relevant rules for this situation. Enlarge person is NOT a polymorph effect, it is straight transmutation. That fact seems to be a common misconception on these boards, not sure why so many people think enlarge is a polymorph effect...

The Exchange

Chell Raighn wrote:
Belafon wrote:

Nope, afraid not.

Enlarge Person wrote:
...Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack.

and

CRB page 212 - Polymorph effects wrote:
You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.
The size increase stacking rules are the only relevant rules for this situation. Enlarge person is NOT a polymorph effect, it is straight transmutation. That fact seems to be a common misconception on these boards, not sure why so many people think enlarge is a polymorph effect...

No misconception here. Both are relevant, though for these two spells in particular they are probably redundant. Giant form IS a polymorph effect. And the last sentence of the quoted rules on polymorph effects is:

Quote:
In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.

It doesn’t matter whether or not the second spell is a polymorph effect.

Liberty's Edge

Belafon wrote:
Chell Raighn wrote:
Belafon wrote:

Nope, afraid not.

Enlarge Person wrote:
...Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack.

and

CRB page 212 - Polymorph effects wrote:
You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.
The size increase stacking rules are the only relevant rules for this situation. Enlarge person is NOT a polymorph effect, it is straight transmutation. That fact seems to be a common misconception on these boards, not sure why so many people think enlarge is a polymorph effect...

No misconception here. Both are relevant, though for these two spells in particular they are probably redundant. Giant form IS a polymorph effect. And the last sentence of the quoted rules on polymorph effects is:

Quote:
In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.
It doesn’t matter whether or not the second spell is a polymorph effect.

And people should read the last sentence of Enlarge person, too:

Enlarge person wrote:
Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack.

That sentence doesn't care about polymorph/not polymorph at all. What matters are magical effects that increase size.

You aren't large and you benefit from a magical effect that makes you large? You can't stack Enlarge person on it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a 9th level Efreeti Bloodline Sorcerer with Efreeti form bloodline ability (a variant of giant form I), use enlarg person afterwards t increse his size further All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions