How does Unarmed strike work with natural attacks?


Rules Questions


This has probably already been done and answered, but I an going to ask it again.
How does Unarmed Strike interact with Natural Attack? As an example: a character with the feat Imp Unarmed Strike gains the Mutant Template, which gives said character claw attacks. How does this change things, does it change things?

Liberty's Edge

It doesn't, they are wholly different.

If you make unarmed attacks as per your BAB you can use your natural attacks as secondary weapons, just as if you were using a manufactured weapon, but that's the end of the overlap.


For purposes of this interaction unarmed strikes are manufactured weapons.


Unarmed strikes and natural weapons are completely different, and things that affect or govern one don't affect or govern the other, unless explicitly stated otherwise. It is possible to make both unarmed strikes and natural attacks in the same full attack, but doing so works just like combining manufactured weapon attacks and natural attacks.

A character would have two options for a full attack: A) Natural attacks only, in which case the normal primary/secondary designations and rules apply, and B) make unarmed strikes, in which case unused body parts can add their natural attacks, as described below.

Here's how combining unarmed strikes and natural weapons works:
• Presuming you make your unarmed strikes first, natural attacks added to unarmed strikes don't affect your unarmed strikes at all, neither limiting the amount nor inducing any kind of penalty. *
• You can add any number of natural attacks, with two restrictions: #1 you can't make a natural attack with a body part that you've made an unarmed strike with, #2 you can't add natural attacks to Flurry of Blows/Brawler's Flurry.
• All the natural attacks are made as secondary attacks (-5 penalty to attack roll, only 1/2 strength added to damage rolls), regardless of anything else.
• Natural attacks never use the main-hand/off-hand system, so anything related to that system (e.g. Double Slice) has no affect on them.
• Unarmed strikes never use the primary/secondary system, so anything related to that system (e.g. Multiattack) has no affect on them.
• Two-weapon fighting penalties only apply to your unarmed strikes.

*) If you do make natural attacks first, any body part so used is unavaible for making an unarmed strike. There is no rule that dictates the order of attacks between manufactured weapon attacks/unarmed strikes and natural attacks, but no body part can be used for both during the same turn. If you attack with a primary natural attack, you're locked out of using unarmed strikes for that full attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How does Unarmed strike work with natural attacks? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions