Swallowed Whole Shenanigans


Rules Discussion


So, recently I have been looking up some monsters that have the swallow whole ability. So swallow whole says "A swallowed creature can attack the monster that has swallowed it, but only with unarmed attacks or with weapons of light Bulk or less" this means that if you are in the belly you cant make any weapon attacks or special attack actions, but this does allow you to use the fighter feat "combat grab". Since you are slowed 1 when swallowed you have to make a strike first, then use combat grab and make another strike with MAP, but if you do manage to hit I haven't found anything preventing you from being able to grapple a creature while it has you in its' stomach. Now heres the kicker, if you do grab the creature the only way to escape a grapple is to take the escape action. The escape action is considered an attack, this means that if you are the creature that swallowed this amalgamation of brawling you now are incapable of escaping from the grab RAW. This is because the creature would have to take an attack action but the rules around swallow whole say "The monster can’t attack creatures it has swallowed". Now, this is all only possible with RAW wording of things not as intended but it is funny to think about.

Now if you are really want to mess with someone you can also take the monk feat "whirling throw". Since the ability isn't an attack or has the attack trait you can use this while inside the creature RAW.

Hope you enjoyed this fun little thing I noticed, if you have any suggestions or tweaks or rules that make this not work please let me know.

Thanks


I think this relates to PF2; this forum is for PF1 rules questions. Flagged it to be moved.

Customer Service Representative

I've moved this thread to 2nd Edition Rules.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Swallowed Whole Shenanigans All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion