Does reach increasing sack?


Rules Questions

The Concordance

If a PC got 5ft. reach increasing twice from Abnormal Reach (Aberrant Bloodline of Bloodrager) and Long Arm Spell, his reach increases by 10ft., right?


Yes, those two stack. You can also stack those with enlarge person and get another 5' of reach, going up to 20 even without a reach weapon.

Sure, you're going to become a Lovecraftian horror in the process, but that's a small price to pay for getting your Dhalsim Stretchy Arm Attacks on.


Correct. Aberrant + Long Arm + Enlarge = 20ft reach. Now get a Whip (15ft) and Lunge (5ft), and throw in Combat Patrol (+5ft for every 5BAB) for extra reasons of unsolicited nonsense.

Maybe even throw 2+ levels of Magus, Combat Reflexes, and Rime Spell (for Entangle/Fatigue Frostbites via Whip), Greater Whip Mastery, Balor Whip, and Quick/Greater Drag if you want to see the legendary spell GM Flips Table.


forgot sword-master's flair - blue scarf


Ryze Kuja wrote:
Now get a Whip (15ft)

That's not quite right. Natural reach, reach increases, and reach weapons are handled differently.

Reach weapons do not add a fixed amount, they instead multiply the natural reach by x2 (special: the whip by x3) but they make you non-threatening within the first 1x of your natural reach. That's why a normal medium creature with a reach weapon doesn't threaten within 5ft, but threatens from 5ft to 10ft instead.

So if you have 15ft natural reach, a reach weapon increases your reach to 30ft (15ft x2) and a whip increases it to 45ft (15ft x3). That is why it's important to calculate natural reach and reach increases separately since reach weapons only multiply natural reach.

The Bloodrager's Aberrant bloodline increases reach (but not natural reach) by +5ft; the Long Arm spell also increases reach (but not natural reach) by +5ft.
The Enlarge Person spell however changes your natural reach, since your creature size changes, according to this table.

As for the example, if a normally Medium-sized Bloodrager has the Aberrant bloodline's Abnormal Reach ability, is under the effect of Long Arm and gets Enlarge Person'd to Large, then he has a "10ft Natural Reach" and a total of "+10ft reach increase".
When wielding a normal weapon, then he threatens everything up to 20ft (10ft, +5ft +5ft).
When wielding a reach weapon, then he doesn't threaten within the first 10ft (1x10ft natural reach), but threatens everything beyond that up to 30ft (2x10ft natural reach, +5ft +5ft).
Even more difficult to tell with a whip since that is dependent on your feats as well.


With Imp Whip Mastery, you threaten everything within your natural reach +5 ft, and then with Combat Patrol, you increase this threatened area by 5ft per every 5BAB, so you're looking at a massive threatened area for delivering Touch Attacks with the Whip. As far as making an actual attack action or a full attack with a Quick Drag or something, yeah this is when your full Reach triples x3, and this is where you Move 30ft + Attack Action for some massive range, and then next round after you've moved, re-setup your Combat Patrol.

Dark Archive

Now throw in Whirlwind Attack and just hit every darn thing! (A Dex based Fighter - Gloom Blade can do some damage stacking reach) And don't even talk about the ridiculous Bard juggler threatening 50' with thrown juggled items... how the blazes does that even work with whirlwind attack and quick draw?

Now. The question you have to ask is this: How the heck does reach work with a Medium Sized creature with 20+ feet of reach? Is it 20' diagonal still? A huge square? Or is it like a Fireball spread?

The Exchange

maouse33 wrote:
Now. The question you have to ask is this: How the heck does reach work with a Medium Sized creature with 20+ feet of reach? Is it 20' diagonal still? A huge square? Or is it like a Fireball spread?

Like a fireball.* The rule on diagonals is generic for any measurement of distance.

CRB wrote:
Diagonals: When measuring distance, the first diagonal counts as 1 square, the second counts as 2 squares, the third counts as 1, the fourth as 2, and so on.

The medium creature with reach would count the distance to any target using the normal rule for measuring distance.

*It's not exactly the same shape as a fireball template. A fireball measures from a grid intersection while the creature measures from a square.

The Concordance

Can two kinds of +5ft. sack ,such as Long Arm and Eidolon's Reach Evolution?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does reach increasing sack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.