Spell Devour


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Does Spell Devour consume and heal from abilities like a Dragons Breath Weapon or damaging auras?


The level 13 Orc feat Spell Devourer?

If so, yes. Any successful save against any magical effect will trigger this feat and grant temp HP.

For reference, anything with the Magic, Arcane, Divne, Occult or Primal trait is a magical effect.


Azalin wrote:
Does Spell Devour consume and heal from abilities like a Dragons Breath Weapon or damaging auras?

For dragon breathe, yes it's arcane. Aura's? Depends: for instance no for a Cinder Rat or ancient bronze dragon, yes for a Muse Phantom or a Marilith.


Goodness, Spell Devourer kinda eats Consume Spell's lunch (punintended). Sure, the latter is real healing rather than temp HP that lasts a round, but it's also much harder to actually get the benefit from.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Thank you. I was sure it worked from abilities with any of the magical tradition traits but at the same time didn't make that much sense, since they weren't really spell-like abilities from past versions of ttrpgs.


So if this does work on aura abilitirs, what do you count as the "level" of the ability? The creature level?


Sventi1989 wrote:
So if this does work on aura abilitirs, what do you count as the "level" of the ability? The creature level?

Same as counteract level. So the creature's Level / 2 rounded up.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Spell Devour All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.