Construct crafting req's


Rules Questions


If my Druid wants to craft an iron golem can he have a wizard substitute casting req spells to avoid dc+5 per spell?


Short answer: yes.

Constructs are, for the most part, like other magic items. You can supply requisite spells from any valid source (UMD, SLAs, other casters, etc.)

The main difference is that constructs call out a specific Craft subskill, which must be used; you can't use Spellcraft.


And that you cannot bypass caster level requirements as well.


willuwontu wrote:
And that you cannot bypass caster level requirements as well.

Actually, come to think of it... if your reasoning is what I think it is, you can't bypass the spell requisites either. Just looked it up; constructs use the same wording as staffs with regard to the first line.

Scrolls, potions, and wands all call out "you can create {this} of a spell that you know."
Staffs and constructs call out "you can create any {this} whose prerequisites you meet."
Other item types do neither, simply saying "you can create {this}."


Sandslice wrote:
willuwontu wrote:
And that you cannot bypass caster level requirements as well.

Actually, come to think of it... if your reasoning is what I think it is, you can't bypass the spell requisites either. Just looked it up; constructs use the same wording as staffs with regard to the first line.

Scrolls, potions, and wands all call out "you can create {this} of a spell that you know."
Staffs and constructs call out "you can create any {this} whose prerequisites you meet."
Other item types do neither, simply saying "you can create {this}."

No, my reasoning is

The DC to craft a construct is 5 + the default caster level of the construct, just like for a magic item. Like when crafting magic items, a creator with a sufficiently high skill bonus may ignore these requirements. Each missing requirement increases the Craft DC by 5. Regardless, the creator must meet all item creation feats and minimum caster level requirements.

They're able to ignore spell prereqs, since it has that clause from magic items in it.

Liberty's Edge

willuwontu wrote:
Sandslice wrote:
willuwontu wrote:
And that you cannot bypass caster level requirements as well.

Actually, come to think of it... if your reasoning is what I think it is, you can't bypass the spell requisites either. Just looked it up; constructs use the same wording as staffs with regard to the first line.

Scrolls, potions, and wands all call out "you can create {this} of a spell that you know."
Staffs and constructs call out "you can create any {this} whose prerequisites you meet."
Other item types do neither, simply saying "you can create {this}."

No, my reasoning is

The DC to craft a construct is 5 + the default caster level of the construct, just like for a magic item. Like when crafting magic items, a creator with a sufficiently high skill bonus may ignore these requirements. Each missing requirement increases the Craft DC by 5. Regardless, the creator must meet all item creation feats and minimum caster level requirements.
They're able to ignore spell prereqs, since it has that clause from magic items in it.

Some of the more recent constructs have made that limitation almost meaningless:

Trompe l'Oeil
Requirements Craft Construct, animate objects, enter image; Skill Craft (painting); Cost 500 gp per HD plus cost of painting

Painting a 22 hd colossal dragon will cost 19,000 gp and require making a craft skill at 20. 30 if you lack the spells.


willuwontu wrote:
Sandslice wrote:
willuwontu wrote:
And that you cannot bypass caster level requirements as well.

Actually, come to think of it... if your reasoning is what I think it is, you can't bypass the spell requisites either. Just looked it up; constructs use the same wording as staffs with regard to the first line.

Scrolls, potions, and wands all call out "you can create {this} of a spell that you know."
Staffs and constructs call out "you can create any {this} whose prerequisites you meet."
Other item types do neither, simply saying "you can create {this}."

No, my reasoning is

The DC to craft a construct is 5 + the default caster level of the construct, just like for a magic item. Like when crafting magic items, a creator with a sufficiently high skill bonus may ignore these requirements. Each missing requirement increases the Craft DC by 5. Regardless, the creator must meet all item creation feats and minimum caster level requirements.
They're able to ignore spell prereqs, since it has that clause from magic items in it.

Ahh, got it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Construct crafting req's All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions