Can you ready to move a Flaming Sphere ?


Rules Discussion

Liberty's Edge

You are Sustaining a Flaming Sphere. Can you use your turn to do Sustain (and move your Flaming Sphere or not) and Ready to Sustain when a door opens so that you can move your sphere through the now opened door ?

Flaming Sphere states : On subsequent rounds, the first time you Sustain this Spell each round, you can leave the sphere in its square or roll it to another square within range. It deals 3d6 fire damage (basic Reflex save) to each creature in that square.

Sustain a spell (Concentrate, One action) states : Choose one spell with a sustained duration you have in effect. The duration of that spell continues until the end of your next turn. Some spells might have slightly different or expanded effects if you sustain them.

Ready (Concentrate, Two actions) states : You prepare to use an action that will occur outside your turn. Choose a single action or free action you can use, and designate a trigger. Your turn then ends. If the trigger you designated occurs before the start of your next turn, you can use the chosen action as a reaction (provided you still meet the requirements to use it).


2 people marked this as a favorite.

you only move the sphere on the 1st sustain of the round.

so you couldn't sustain-ready-sustain and move it with the second sustain (it's still the same round, albeit a different turn).

and since if you don't sustain before the end of your turn (not round) it ends, i can't see a way to do that.

Someone else though can ready his action to open the door during your turn, and tehn you can move it inside.

Liberty's Edge

Thank you for the answer :-)

Liberty's Edge

I agree with shroudb reading.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can you ready to move a Flaming Sphere ? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.