Mythic Question: Imprinting Hand


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Imprinting Hand (Su) (Mythic Adventures pg. 22): By touching a foe, you can gain knowledge about it, including its weaknesses. To use this ability, you must first successfully hit a foe with an unarmed strike, natural weapon, or melee touch attack to make contact, then use this ability is a free action. As long as the target remains within 1 mile of you, you always know the direction and approximate distance to it. If the foe has any weaknesses or vulnerabilities (including a mythic flaw), you immediately know this information. You can maintain this connection with only one creature at a time; if you use this ability on another creature, your connection with the previous creature is lost.

How exactly does it work or what limits are there to this ability?

The way I read it, it seems that by touching the creature I get to know everything about it?

Is this correct or am I missing something?

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The initial text is a bit misleading, but it has no game effect, what matter is the part that explains what you get, and that is way less than "everything".

"As long as the target remains within 1 mile of you, you always know the direction and approximate distance to it. If the foe has any weaknesses or vulnerabilities (including a mythic flaw), you immediately know this information:"

If he is within a mile from you, you know:
- direction and approximate distance of his current position.
- you know if the creature has a weakness or vulnerability.

Nothing more.

You don't get to know his name, home address, true face if he is disguised, who he serves, etc.
It is an ability meant to help you to harm someone now, not an information-gathering tool.

The question is if it works against someone with Mind blank.


No, I don't think you gain all knowledge about it.

It simply says you gain knowledge, which must specifically include any weaknesses it has.

Outside of those weaknesses, it's up to the GM to decide what you learn.

Also, I could see this back firing big time to be honest.

Like you would normally expect undead to be susceptible to positive energy, by Tar Baphon has resistance to non-mythic sources and takes half damage from positive energy. You would almost certainly know that undead are damaged by positive energy, it's unclear if you would know specifically Tar Baphon is resistant.

Ultimately, it's going to depend on GM adjudication.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mythic Question: Imprinting Hand All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.