
SpacePotato |
2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
So, simply put, I would like to know if the Far Shot feat applies to thrown melee weapons (incl. melee weapons with the Throwing fusion) as the rules that I can find are somewhat unclear. Far Shot says "...when using a ranged weapon.", but if a character throws a melee weapon and makes a ranged attack (as per the Thrown property) is that not also a ranged weapon?
TL;DR - Does Far Shot (Feat) apply to Thrown Melee Weapons?
Thanks, the humble space potato

The Artificer |

So, while the thrown weapon property is not completely explicit that it is a ranged attack (and therefore subject to things like cover) There is no reason not to treat it as such.
Therefore, the far shot feat should apply to thrown weapons.
I concur, that's how I'll run it at my table if it comes up.

BigNorseWolf |

So, while the thrown weapon property is not completely explicit that it is a ranged attack (and therefore subject to things like cover) There is no reason not to treat it as such.
Therefore, the far shot feat should apply to thrown weapons.
Note that there's no direct statement that melee attacks are not subject to cover. "No purple dragons allowed" implies, but does not state, that green dragons would be ok.
Pathfinder had a line that reach weapons resolved cover as ranged weapons. Starfinder doesn't have that. Though it seems kind of odd you can jabe a space pike through your friend and into the enemy with no penalty.

Zwordsman |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
reference to what?
and yeah. AFAIK there isn't any super direct statement.
but by exchange, I figured it was defined by range attack to be ranged weapon valid for the feat.
Since the weapon tables (small arms, etc) don't actually have a thrown and the property itself doesn't call one out. That seems like the cleanest method.