One-handed or Two-Handed?


Rules Questions


I'm looking at the feat Orc Weapon Expertise. It lets you select a benefit that you get whenever wielding a weapon with Orc in its name. One of the options gives a shield bonus of +1. If the weapon is two-handed, you get +2 instead.

I'm wondering if orc hornbows count as two-handed for a feat like this.

The feat doesn't mention melee anywhere.


A bow is a 2-handed weapon. It can't be used with 1 hand.

By contrast crossbows can be fired - but not loaded - with 1 hand.

EDIT: A Crossbow is also a 2-handed weapon, I was just using that as an example of how a bow is even less useful with only 1 hand.


Heather 540 wrote:

I'm looking at the feat Orc Weapon Expertise. It lets you select a benefit that you get whenever wielding a weapon with Orc in its name. One of the options gives a shield bonus of +1. If the weapon is two-handed, you get +2 instead.

I'm wondering if orc hornbows count as two-handed for a feat like this.

The feat doesn't mention melee anywhere.

According to the weapon tables an Orc Horn Bow is a Ranged Weapon. The fact that it takes two hands to use is a side note.

I am sure that when they refer to a two handed weapon in feats or abilities they are referring to weapons on the two handed weapon tables. Otherwise there would be no need for Deadly Aim. Bows would just use power attack.

In every instance I can think of 2 handed weapons refer to weapons on the 2 handed weapon tables, not ranged weapons.


Ok, thanks. I just wanted to make sure.


Well, this option would compete with equipping a buckler, so let's check the rules there:

CRB, page 150 wrote:
Buckler: (...) You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it. You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so.

So, at least this text makes a difference between a bow and a two-handed weapon, supporting Gilfalas' position.

Further the option of simply using a buckler undermines the point of using Orc Weapon Expertise this way, because a few gold and pounds of weight are usually less of an investment than a feat. And a buckler can be enhanced further. There is a potential catch:

same page wrote:
In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you lose the buckler’s AC bonus until your next turn.

But IMO this doesn't apply to a bow.


Are you sure it doesn't apply to a bow?


Heather 540 wrote:
Are you sure it doesn't apply to a bow?

I read it that way, but I don't find it totally clear. So I am curious about other opinions, actually.


Oh yeah I totally forgot weapon classes are Light/1-handed/2-handed/Ranged. Bit of a derp moment for me =P

CRB, page 150 wrote:
Buckler: (...) You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it. You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so.

I always thought you did take the -1 when using a bow, but reading your quotes right now ...

CRB, page 150 wrote:
Buckler: (...) You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it.

That's pretty definitive. Also ...

CRB, page 150 wrote:
Buckler: You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a –1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so.

If the bow doesn't count as a two-handed-weapon for Orc Weapon Expertise it shouldn't count as one for bucklers.

(I'm by no means an expert on this, but SheepishEidolon seems correct to me.)


Ok. Guess instead of this feat, I'm getting a buckler.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / One-handed or Two-Handed? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.