| Midgefly |
I am running a Hobgoblin Monk with the Gorilla Stance and Gorilla Pound Feats. At level 5 I picked up the Agonizing Rebuke Ancestry feat.
In the wording for Agonizing Rebuke it states:
"When you successfully Demoralize a foe, that foe takes 1d4 mental damage at the start of each of its turns as long as it remains frightened and continues to engage in combat with you."
Does this successful Demoralize refer to all uses of Demoralize my character performs, even if they are subordinate actions within activities? Or does this refer only to using the Demoralize action by itself?
I'm mainly curious if this counts when I successfully demoralize via Gorilla Pound and it didn't seem as clear as other instances involving the subordinate actions within activities rules.
For reference:
"In-Depth Action Rules" listed HERE
| Fireballstew |
Fireballstew wrote:So then does Agonizing Rebuke work with Gorilla Pound? Or not?Subordinate actions are just a clarification to the rules.
If it says Demoralize, then its Demoralize. It works the same way for any action in the rulebook.
Alright, I see how it is.
Well lets look at Gorilla Pound."Attempt an Intimidation check to DEMORALIZE..."
And lets look at Rebuke
"When you successfully DEMORALIZE a foe...."
Does it work or no? Of course it does
And it also works for immunity to be demoralized after an attempt
NECR0G1ANT
|
+1 to Agonizing Rebuke working with Gorilla Pound.
Similar question - does Mobility work when a PC uses Tumble Through?
You move in a way that denies your enemies the opportunity to retaliate. When you take a Stride action to move half your Speed or less, that movement does not trigger reactions. You can use Mobility when Climbing, Flying, or Swimming instead of Striding if you have the corresponding movement type.
You Stride up to your Speed. During this movement, you can try to move through the space of one enemy. Attempt an Acrobatics check against the enemy’s Reflex DC as soon as you try to enter its space. You can Tumble Through using Climb, Fly, Swim, or another action instead of Stride in the appropriate environment.
Success You move through the enemy’s space, treating the squares in its space as difficult terrain (every 5 feet costs 10 feet of movement). If you don’t have enough Speed to move all the way through its space, you get the same effect as a failure.
Failure Your movement ends, and you trigger reactions as if you had moved out of the square you started in.
| Helvellyn |
+1 to Agonizing Rebuke working with Gorilla Pound.
Similar question - does Mobility work when a PC uses Tumble Through?
Mobility, CRB 184 wrote:You move in a way that denies your enemies the opportunity to retaliate. When you take a Stride action to move half your Speed or less, that movement does not trigger reactions. You can use Mobility when Climbing, Flying, or Swimming instead of Striding if you have the corresponding movement type.Tumble Through, CRB 240 wrote:You Stride up to your Speed. During this movement, you can try to move through the space of one enemy. Attempt an Acrobatics check against the enemy’s Reflex DC as soon as you try to enter its space. You can Tumble Through using Climb, Fly, Swim, or another action instead of Stride in the appropriate environment.
Success You move through the enemy’s space, treating the squares in its space as difficult terrain (every 5 feet costs 10 feet of movement). If you don’t have enough Speed to move all the way through its space, you get the same effect as a failure.
Failure Your movement ends, and you trigger reactions as if you had moved out of the square you started in.
Sadly I think the answer is no. Tumble Through is an action in itself seperate to Stride. Although it has Stride as a subordinate action I think the rules on page 461 apply to that element of it:
"Using an activity is not the same as using any of its subordinate actions. For example, the quickened condition you get from the haste spell lets you spend an extra action each turn to Stride or Strike, but you couldn’t use the extra action for an activity that includes a Stride or Strike. As another example, if you used an action that specified, “If the next action you use is a Strike,” an activity that includes a Strike wouldn’t count, because the next thing you are doing is starting an activity, not using the Strike basic action."