Psychic Magic: Emotion Descriptors


Rules Questions


I'm having a lot of trouble finding something I swear I had read before.

Psychic magic. In particular, the Emotion descriptor.

I remember reading in some clarification that if your character was not in control of themselves, could not think or act on their own, that you could not cast. But upon re-reading the rules, they seem to be SPECIFICALLY about the Emotion descriptor spells.

How the hell would a Shaken effect shut you down, but not a DOMINATE effect? That has to, right? Despite not being an "Emotion Descriptor Spell" - it's still a Mind Effect that denies you control. I swear this was clarified somewhere, and cannot for the life of me find it now.

Any clarification (or help finding said clarification) would be greatly appreciated!


A dominate effect doesn't allow you any actions at all. The fact it doesn't specifically stop psychic magic is irrelevant, it stops everything.


But - and this is important;
Could they force you to use Psychic Magic requiring Emotion Components on your allies?


Yes. Also arcane or divine magics, if you have those and they know.


That baffles me. It truly baffles me.
If you are Shaken, you "are not in enough control of your self" to cast emotion spells. But if you're Dominated - literally and completely not in control of yourself - ...you can? What about that makes even the tiniest fraction of sense?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Psychic Magic: Emotion Descriptors All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions