
PlantThings |

How do you read this Leshy feat?
If you rest outdoors for 10 minutes during the day, you regain Hit Points equal to your Constitution modifier × half your level. You gain this benefit in addition to any healing from Treat Wounds. Leshies whose plant nourishment does not rely on photosynthesis require a similarly suitable environment. For example, fungus leshies need dark, damp environments and a pile of decaying plant matter.
Assuming appropriate conditions for the Leshy, do you get the heal as long as you rested for 10 minutes or is the heal an exclusive bonus to Treat Wounds?

PlantThings |

Nothing on this? I lean toward it being an exclusive bonus to Treat Wounds since the second sentence sounds deliberate; no "You also gain this benefit..." or anything.
If that's the case, I get hung up on the first sentence indicating needing 10 minutes, which is already a Treat Wounds feature. Makes it sound like it's saying more than just laying down the environmental requirements and the bonus calculation.
Just curious how others rule this.

CrystalSeas |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |

I read it as independent from receiving Treat Wounds.
In my understanding, the "You gain this benefit in addition to any healing from Treat Wounds." sentence is to emphasize that they are two separate ways to heal.
I would rule that you can get this feat's HP benefits even if you don't get the benefits of Treat Wounds.

Draco18s |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Read independently, if you rest for 10 minutes while simultaneously healed by a successful Treat Wounds, would you be healed by the feat twice? Once for resting in appropriate conditions and another for Treat Wounds?
Er, I think you worded that poorly.
You get healed by Treat Wounds (because Treat Wounds) AND you get healed by Solar Rejuvenation.You get each once, but you get both.

PlantThings |

Poorly worded, yes. Not sure if this is any better: Would you be healed by Solar Rejuvenation from resting (con x half level) and also healed by Treat Wounds with the Solar Rejuvenation bonus (Treat Wounds heal + con x half level) if both simultaneously happen in the same 10 minutes?
I think I'm trying confirm if can you double dip the feat's healing in this scenario, in which the two separate conditions for the feat's heal are met at the same time.
Either way, thank you everyone for the help! I'm slowly getting it.

CrystalSeas |

in which the two separate conditions for the feat's heal are met at the same time.
There are not two separate conditions for the Solar Rejuvenation feat. There is only one.
In order to receive the benefit of the Solar Rejuvenation feat (regain Hit Points equal to your Constitution modifier × half your level) all you need to do is rest outdoors for 10 minutes during the day
That's it. It's the only condition you have to meet. You get those hit points when you do that.

Draco18s |

Poorly worded, yes. Not sure if this is any better: Would you be healed by Solar Rejuvenation from resting (con x half level) and also healed by Treat Wounds with the Solar Rejuvenation bonus (Treat Wounds heal + con x half level) if both simultaneously happen in the same 10 minutes?
double dip
No. Explicitly absolutely not.
All Solar Rejuv is saying is that if you do the thing (rest in the sun for 10 minutes) and are also treated with Treat Wounds, you are not precluded from healing.

shroudb |
As i said in my first post, the two sentences are indeed seperated, so by RAW you certainly do not need to be benefiting from Treat wounds.
it's just that "what's the purpose of the second sentence then"? that makes me question the intention behind it.
namely, if there are 2 seperate sources of healing nothing precludes you to benefiting from both either way.
You don't see "if someone uses Heal on you in that 10minutes you also get that healing as well" as an example, and that's because healing, unlike temporary HP, from 2 different sources always applies.
So, what really is the purpose of the second sentence then?

PlantThings |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I think what made me think the feat has a more direct interaction with Treat Wounds is the second sentence indicating the benefit is gained “in addition to any healing from Treat Wounds.” To me, it can read as applying only if the Treat Wounds actually healed you. So a success or better gets the benefit but failing or worse does not, 10 minute rest or not.
Another scenario this could apply to is if you are performing Treat Wounds on yourself. Reading the second sentence as clarification on treating Treat Wounds as resting, you can’t be in rest while performing the activity so you gain no benefit from the feat. I think this scenario can be reasonably confusing relative to the second sentence that points out you receive the benefit from “any healing from Treat Wounds.”
But if the second sentence is indeed just there for clarification, I think I get it. I just need to stop reading more into it because the feat makes more sense to me now if the clarification line wasn’t there to at all.
Thanks again, everyone!

Draco18s |

Healing from two sources is cumulative. Shocking, I know. Oh, and "any" means "whatever the result was, if that was 0, you get that and this. If it was 5, you get that and this." It doesn't matter what Treat Wounds gave you, you still get your Solar Rejuv.
But I'm still not sure how you got from there to "I can do both and get MORE than both?!"
The feat is 5+5 (10, as explained) but your initial question was asking if it was 15 because one of the 5s counted twice. Which is utter nonsense.

CrystalSeas |

But I'm still not sure how you got from there to "I can do both and get MORE than both?!"
The feat is 5+5 (10, as explained) but your initial question was asking if it was 15 because one of the 5s counted twice. Which is utter nonsense.
I'm not at all sure how you jumped from
Assuming appropriate conditions for the Leshy, do you get the heal as long as you rested for 10 minutes or is the heal an exclusive bonus to Treat Wounds?
to your claim that they were asking if one of the 5s counted twice, and if they got 15.
Your reply is nonsensical. It's a response to something that no one else has raised in this thread.

PlantThings |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

After considering both lines being read independently, I misunderstood the 10 minute resting and the Treat Wounds as two different conditions you could get the healing from the feat. As such, I thought both conditions being met simultaneously could get you the feat healing for each condition met, two in this instance. But apparently, they aren’t separate conditions at all.
Technically, I would still be at the feat healing being an exclusive bonus to Treat Wounds from the beginning if it weren’t for everyone’s input.
But thankfully, we’re not there anymore. The first line is actually what makes the feat work and work by itself; you just need 10 minute resting in the right environment. The second line is purely for specific clarification. I actually had it completely backwards at the start.

Draco18s |

Your reply is nonsensical. It's a response to something that no one else has raised in this thread.
Dude, seriously. That was actually said. Twice:
would you be healed by the feat twice?
I'm trying confirm if can you double dip the feat's healing in this scenario