Veil Spell


Rules Discussion


For the 4th level veil spell, does it have you add your level twice if you are trained in deception?

Relevant sentence:

It allows the target to ignore any circumstance penalties they might take for being disguised as dissimilar creatures, and it gives the targets a +4 status bonus to Deception checks to prevent others from seeing through their disguises, and add their level even if untrained.


No, that would throw the math completely out of wack. "Even if" here means that you usually don't add level if you're untrained, but get to anyway. It has no effect if you're trained. Several other effects such as Untrained Improvisation work the same way.


Let me answer that without reading the rule.

No. There is no way you would add your level twice. That would be broken.

The phrasing could be better. Yes technically you can argue that you add your level if you are trained. But that is something that you already do, its part of the proficiency bonus.

The pathfinder 2 rules assume a level of common sense, like there is no way you will ever be adding the same bonus twice. Which is unfortunate as that is not always so obvious.


Gortle wrote:

Let me answer that without reading the rule.

No. There is no way you would add your level twice. That would be broken.

The phrasing could be better. Yes technically you can argue that you add your level if you are trained. But that is something that you already do, its part of the proficiency bonus.

The pathfinder 2 rules assume a level of common sense, like there is no way you will ever be adding the same bonus twice. Which is unfortunate as that is not always so obvious.

I figured that was the case, but I just wanted to check. Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Veil Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion