Rerolling a Save if the corresponding Ability Score changes?


Rules Questions


SITUATION: A PC failed a WILL save to be panicked. His companion casts Owl's Wisdom on this PC right away.

QUERY: Does the PC gets to roll a NEW WILL Save to avoid the Panic condition (as his Wisdom bonus changed )?

Thanks for clearing this up!

TOS

Dark Archive

Nope.

No more than casting bulls strength NOW let's you reroll attack rolls from 5 minutes ago


And no more than a spell decreasing the Wisdom would call for a new roll had the character succeeded on the initial Will Save.

- note : «re-roll» means something specific with the Pathfinder ruleset, it means rolling a die/dice pool again at a given moment, while the game hasn't progressed past it. There, the game had progressed past the failed Will Save, time went by, another spell was cast.... -


Yeah, no additional roll is granted just because you got better at it. It already happened and has been resolved.

Some effects may allow/require multiple rolls (like one each round) in which case the increase in ability score increasing your save stat would apply to the new roll, but it is a new roll and not a re-roll.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rerolling a Save if the corresponding Ability Score changes? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions