Share Shape spell


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hi there,

I am looking at the Share Shape spell.

Spoiler:
School transmutation (polymorph); Level ranger 3, sorcerer/wizard 4, witch 4

CASTING

Casting Time 1 standard action

EFFECT

Duration 1 hour/level (D)

DESCRIPTION

This spell functions as beast shape II, but you may only assume the form of an animal of a type identical to your animal companion or familiar. If your familiar or companion is not an animal, this spell has no effect.


It mentions that the creature type needs to be the same as your Animal Companion or Familiar. Does that mean that if I take a Velociraptor familiar I could assume the form of a Megaraptor whilst using this spell? Or any other Large sized dinosaur?
Taking the interpretation even further, all dinosaurs are of the Animal type. Could I change into a Giant Vulture instead?


I just noticed I wrote familiar instead of animal companion...


Yeah, it looks like you can use it to turn into any Animal if you have a Familiar or Animal Companion that is also an Animal. I basically looks like a way for nondruids to get Wildshape.


Bram Hart wrote:
It mentions that the creature type needs to be the same as your Animal Companion or Familiar.

It doesn't, actually. It doesn't say "creature type" it uses the word type in the regular non-gameterm way.

If you have a velociraptor familiar, you can only transform into a velociraptor. Hence "share shape" - your pet shares its shape with you.


Aaah that makes more sense! Otherwise you'd get Beastshape II for hours a day instead of minutes....


So, if you are going to exploit Share Shape, you totes want to be a Mammoth Rider!


Scott Wilhelm wrote:
So, if you are going to exploit Share Shape, you totes want to be a Mammoth Rider!

No, because you don't turn into a copy of your animal companion, but rather into a generic member of its species, following the regular polymorph rules. That's exactly why the spell is so weirdly worded.

The animal companions's actual size, as well as feats etc., are irrelevant. Note that you're limited to Beast Shape II, the spell only works if your familiar/animal companion is a member of a species that's usually between tiny and large. No turning into a huge allosaurus, for instance.


Derklord wrote:
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
So, if you are going to exploit Share Shape, you totes want to be a Mammoth Rider!

No, because you don't turn into a copy of your animal companion, but rather into a generic member of its species, following the regular polymorph rules. That's exactly why the spell is so weirdly worded.

The animal companions's actual size, as well as feats etc., are irrelevant. Note that you're limited to Beast Shape II, the spell only works if your familiar/animal companion is a member of a species that's usually between tiny and large. No turning into a huge allosaurus, for instance.

Well, that's disappointing.


On a Hunter or Ranger, the spell is still super powerful with the right companion. Theoretically, you could even turn into a larger animal than your companion if you didn't go for the incease to large at 7th level.


I hope to have the experience of two Velociraptors on the prowl ^_^

Derklord, I would appreciate your input on my Shapechanging Cleric.

Sovereign Court

Tangent: Since its a spell with a target of "you", can you share it with your familiar with "share spells"?

Essentially, does your 'housecat' turn into a 'lion' for hour/level? (Tiny-sized Cat -> Large-sized Cat)


Firebug wrote:
Tangent: Since its a spell with a target of "you", can you share it with your familiar with "share spells"?

Yes. However, the effects would probably be negligible. There are some animal companions where it'd make sense (a leopard companion would gain pounce, for instance), but for familiars, the changes are strictly minor. For tiny familiars like a cat, that's +2Str, +2Dex, and +1 natural armor.* The familiar might even lose abilities, e.g. a bat's blindsense.

Firebug wrote:
Essentially, does your 'housecat' turn into a 'lion' for hour/level? (Tiny-sized Cat -> Large-sized Cat)

No. If your familiar is a cat, its type is "cat". You can see that in the familiar description, as the skills section says "use either the normal skill ranks for an animal of that type", that sentence only makes sense if, in case of your familiar being a cat, it refers to "cat", not any feline creature.

Basically, "type" is short for "(corresponding) bestiary entry".

*) Since it's not medium or small, first apply the changes liste in this table, and then the changes listed in the spell description.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Share Shape spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions