Spell Delivery -Familiar ability


Rules Discussion


Quote:
Spell Delivery (Core Rulebook pg. 218 1.1): If your familiar is in your space, you can cast a spell with a range of touch, transfer its power to your familiar, and command the familiar to deliver the spell. If you do, the familiar uses its 2 actions for the round to move to a target of your choice and touch that target. If it doesn’t reach the target to touch it this turn, the spell has no effect.

Are the "2 actions" of the familiar a Stride and the Touch.

Or does the Touch follows normal spell rules in that it doesn't require a seperate action and so the familiar "uses its 2 actions to move and touch" means that he can move with 2 Strides and then touch?

For all i know, there isn't a "touch" action in PF2, and the ability doesn't say "stide and Touch, but instead "use two actions to move and then touch" so the 2nd interpetation makes more sense to me, but I've heard the first one as well.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I agree it's unclear whether the familiar can move once or twice with its movement speed, and still touch the target. The most conservative read is one move action (to its speed) and one touch action. But the liberal view of being able to move twice could also be valid.

Tough DM call.


I'd say the familiar can move twice + touch.

The familiar is tiny and most likely has a reach or 0 ft, so it has to enter the target's square anyway. Might as well use the movement to get there to touch the target's foot or something.

It's not clear by RAW, though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Spell Delivery -Familiar ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion