Grappling multiple opponents at once


Rules Questions


One of my players is a Druid and likes the Giant Octopus shape. He and I were were wondering what the rules are for Grabbing/Maintaining a Grapple on multiple opponents at the same time.
1. Can he do this?
2. If he can, does he make one roll to maintain the grapple on his turn, to maintain on ALL targets? Is there a penalty for this?
3. Is this just limited by how many limbs he has?

Thanks!


1. Yes
2. I believe you'd have to make one test for each grappled creature, meaning that you'd have to have Greater Grapple for two creatures (allowing you to make a grapple check as a move action) or Rapid Grapple for three. You take a -4 penalty for grappling without both hands. Grabbing Style allows you to ignore this penalty, though being a Giant Octopus should also negate it as in the Grapple combat maneuver section it specifically lists humanoid creatures grappling without using two hands.
3. I'd think 3 is the limit without having the Grab special ability (and even for three, if you're a humanoid grappler, your GM is going to have to be very forgiving and allow you to maintain a hold without any hands at all, using a head scissor or similar I'd imagine)


What about that Witch with the hairs? That's a humanoid that can grapple multiple targets without hands...


Rapid Grappler lets you maintain again, on a target you have already successfully maintained against as a move action, as a swift action. It wouldn't let you maintain another target as a swift.

If you are grappling with an appendage that has the grab functionality, it is exempt from the "two hands" rule as you are grappling specifically with that appendage. Otherwise you need to use two things that can grasp (be they hands or hair) per target or take the -4.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grappling multiple opponents at once All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.