Shatter and Breaking an Item


Rules Questions


Hi I have just finished reading a couple of pages of highly emotional posts which actually failed to answer the question below:

Spells Words are:

You can ##target## shatter against a single solid nonmagical object,
regardless of composition, weighing up to 10 pounds per caster level.

Target - as in - aim the spell at it, where, if the save is failed
it will do 1d6 damage per level - as the spell is worded.

The questions no-one actually answered
(i.e the ones I ALSO want answered) are:

Given the spell is specifically designed to damage objects
a) does it ignore hardness (as a spell targeting objects it might)
b) does it do full damage (as a spell that ONLY hits objects, it should)


Against an object Shatter doesn't do damage. It destroys the target, Will save negates. The damage is only vs. crystalline creatures.

Edit: this was also mentioned a few times in the previous thread.


avr wrote:

Against an object Shatter doesn't do damage. It destroys the target, Will save negates. The damage is only vs. crystalline creatures.

Edit: this was also mentioned a few times in the previous thread.

Yes I saw that - but they misquoted in the thread that it shattered (rather than targeted as worded in the spell) the object, hence my confusion.

So - If object is unattended - auto-fail and destroyed?
(No doubt the source of the "broken spell" comments)
- and if attended, will save or destroyed?

PS - Thanks for answering.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shatter and Breaking an Item All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions