Spells without a "spell resistance" line?


Rules Questions


I asked about Planar Aegis here, but I'm now looking for a more generic answer. What is the default if a spell doesn't have a "spell resistance" line?

In the case of Planar Aegis, it's a personal spell, so it kind of makes sense, but the spell ends up impacting enemies, so...


Unless a spell tells you spell resistance applies, it doesn't. Similarly if it doesn't list or mention a save, the target doesn't get a save.


Personal spells don't have save and SR lines because you're casting it on yourself, and you should always want a spell you intentionally can only cast on yourself to work.


AwesomenessDog wrote:
Personal spells don't have save and SR lines because you're casting it on yourself, and you should always want a spell you intentionally can only cast on yourself to work.

But some personal spells, like fire shield, do allow for SR.

But yeah, it looks like the intent here is no SR.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

Fire Shield doesn't have an SR entry in Pathfinder.


^It does in the text of the spell but that's only reason it would, because of the damage dealt to others might be affected by SR.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
AwesomenessDog wrote:
^It does in the text of the spell but that's only reason it would, because of the damage dealt to others might be affected by SR.

My pocket edition of the core rules has no such entry, so if it ever did have such an entry, it was errataed away.


David knott 242 wrote:
AwesomenessDog wrote:
^It does in the text of the spell but that's only reason it would, because of the damage dealt to others might be affected by SR.

My pocket edition of the core rules has no such entry, so if it ever did have such an entry, it was errataed away.

Fire Shield wrote:
Any creature striking you with its body or a hand-held weapon deals normal damage, but at the same time the attacker takes 1d6 points of damage + 1 point per caster level (maximum +15). This damage is either cold damage (if you choose a chill shield) or fire damage (if you choose a warm shield). If the attacker has spell resistance, it applies to this effect. Creatures wielding melee weapons with reach are not subject to this damage if they attack you.


AD's right about fire shield. linky.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spells without a "spell resistance" line? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions