Does Splinter Spell Resistance work?


Rules Questions


Splinter Spell Resistance targets an object.
Splinter Spell Resistance has a Fortitude save.
This saving throw does not state that it affects objects.
Therefore, Splinter Spell Resistance cannot ever be cast.


Splinter spell resistance targets a weapon or pack of ammo, bestowing it with an effect that triggers on hit. That effect (-5 to attacked creature's SR) has the Fortitude save.


The description of the spell does not state it. Therefore, the save listed in the spell's statblock has to do with the original target.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rathizard wrote:
The description of the spell does not state it. Therefore, the save listed in the spell's statblock has to do with the original target.

So it actually boils down to this, based on your forced reading.

1. The spell targets objects because the target line clearly shows objects.
2. The spell doesn't target objects because the saving throw line doesn't have (object) in it.
3. Paradox!

Oddly enough, you'd also have to argue that a spell which buffs weapons with the ability to debuff foes' SR is somehow not harmless to the weapon due to not having the (harmless) tag!

In this case, though, we don't actually need the (object) tag since it's redundant; the spell clearly targets objects. If we insist on saving throws, then by standard rule for casting on objects, the items either auto-fail their Fort save, get saves as an unattended magic item, or get saves as an attended item (which most wielders will choose to auto-fail unless somehow forbidden.)

By insisting that the Fort save doesn't apply to the enemy, you make the spell stronger than if the hits allowed Fort saves to avoid the SR debuff.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Exactly where it says, in the rules, that objects aren't affected by spells with a fortitude save?
I tried to find this text to see what it says exactly, but I can't find it. You are sure that you aren't applying the rules about the Construct type?

There is a rule:

Quote:
(object): The spell can be cast on objects, which receive saving throws only if they are magical or if they are attended (held, worn, grasped, or the like) by a creature resisting the spell, in which case the object uses the creature’s saving throw bonus unless its own bonus is greater. ....

but the spells already specifies that it can target objects in the target line, so the label (object) isn't necessary. And the cited rule doesn't say anything about a Fortitude save.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

When you are talking about something, it really helps if provide a link to the subject so others can easily reference it.

This really is badly written. It should say when the save should be made, and by who.

If the target of the spell needs to make the save, it should be tagged (harmless), or (object). If it is made by creatures that take damage from the object...how often is the save made? The spell talks about only allowing 1 reduction each round. But to get that one reduction, does the target creature make a fortitude save for each hit, or just 1 save for each person's turn? Or just 1 save for the whole turn? Or just 1 save vs each casting of Splinter Spell Resistance?

The most 'workable' interpretation I can think of would be to have the damaged creature save for each blow, considering that the fortitude save will be easy to make so allowing multiple hits to each trigger the debuff should be fine.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

As written, the save is for the weapon or ammunitions target of the spell.
If the save was meant to protect from the SR reduction it should have been in the text of the spell, not in the Saving Throw line.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Not really sure what is confusing about this spell.

• It targets a weapon or ammo. That's the target of the spell.
The SR reduction is an effect it bestows upon the target. The spell doesn't cause SR reduction, it allows its target to cause it.
Therefore there is no save against this SR reduction in relation to this spell.

• The save is made by the weapon it targets, since that's the only target this spell has, as shown above. Despite the (harmless) and (object) tags missing, this spell clearly indicates its target(s).

This is further verified by the first sentence:

Quote:
You create an aura around the target weapon...
Regarding this:
Meirril wrote:
how often is the save made?

You basically 'enchant' a weapon. You don't have to cast Magic Weapon every single turn on a weapon for it to benefit from the spell.

You cast the spell, the target receives the effect of the spell for its duration.

The rest of the spell already clarifies only 5SR can ever be reduced per round through the use of this spell, regardless of the amount of sources affected by this spell, or hits weapons do in a single round.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Splinter Spell Resistance work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.