| Vlorax |
Would Bespell Weapon apply to the Strikes in the flurry granted by Ki Strike?
Ki Strike is a "non-cantrip spell" to qualify for Bespell but I wasn't sure what the correct order of actions is for the Strikes. Are the considered part of the spell so Bespell Weapon can't happen until after? Or does it happen and then the strikes are made?
A -> Ki Strike Spell used (Bespell Weapon free action triggers) -> 2x Strike from Ki Strike.
B-> Ki Strike Spell used -> 2x Strikes from Ki Strike -> Bespell Weapon free action triggers.
I very much want it to be A, but suspect it's B by RAW.
| manbearscientist |
I believe B is correct. I haven't seen anything that says you can interrupt the triggering action, especially as Bespell Weapon seems to require you to have completed the spellcasting action.
However, it doesn't have a "this turn" clause on its requirement. RAW, you should be able to setup for Bespell Weapon by casting a spell as your last activity in the previous turn.
Narxiso
|
However, it doesn't have a "this turn" clause on its requirement. RAW, you should be able to setup for Bespell Weapon by casting a spell as your last activity in the previous turn.
I don't think so. In the spell description, it says:
You siphon spell energy into one weapon you’re wielding. Until
the end of your turn, the weapon deals an extra 1d6 damage
of a type depending on the school of the spell you just cast.
This leads me to believe that if an action is done as a final action in that turn, then the turn ends, meaning that bespell weapon's duration ends as well.
@Vlorax, I think B is the correct reading as well because Ki Strike includes the strikes as part of the spell.
| manbearscientist |
I don't think so. In the spell description, it says:
Quote:You siphon spell energy into one weapon you’re wielding. Until
the end of your turn, the weapon deals an extra 1d6 damage
of a type depending on the school of the spell you just cast.This leads me to believe that if an action is done as a final action in that turn, then the turn ends, meaning that bespell weapon's duration ends as well.
@Vlorax, I think B is the correct reading as well because Ki Strike includes the strikes as part of the spell.
I wasn't referring to using Bespell Weapon on previous turn, but at the start of the next turn before making another action, after which Ki Strikes could be used to receive the bonus. This is because Bespell Weapon's requirement is:
Your most recent action was to cast a non-cantrip spell.
This wording is used on Commanding Lash and Dancing Scarf. The alternative "most recent action this turn" is used, but only on monsters like Great White Shark.
Definitely an argument as to whether its RAI though.
| beowulf99 |
| 3 people marked this as a favorite. |
B is correct. Bespell weapon is a free action, but it is not a free action with a trigger, so cannot happen during another action. Ki Strike is a spell, but also an activity, as it allows you to both cast the spell and make either a single attack or a Flurry of Blows as a part of casting the spell. *edit: All spells are Activities. In either case, you can't interrupt a spell without using a reaction.
Ki strikes actions are Simultaneous, meaning they occur in the order that they are listed in the ability. So you cast Ki Strike, then make your attack(s). You can only "interrupt" that sequence with either a Reaction or a Free action with a trigger.
If bespell weapon had a trigger, and not a requirement, it could happen after casting Ki Strike, but before either strike.
Since it has a requirement, it is treated as a "normal" action rather than as a reaction.
Relevant rules:
Free actions don’t cost you any of your actions per
turn, nor do they cost your reaction. A free action with no
trigger follows the same rules as a single action (except
the action cost), and a free action with a trigger follows
the same rules as a reaction (except the reaction cost).
You can use only one single action, activity, or free action
that doesn’t have a trigger at a time. You must complete
one before beginning another. For example, the Sudden
Charge activity states you must Stride twice and then
Strike, so you couldn’t use an Interact action to open a door
in the middle of the movement, nor could you perform part
of the move, make your attack, and then finish the move.
Free actions with triggers and reactions work differently.
You can use these whenever the trigger occurs, even if the
trigger occurs in the middle of another action.