Does the Witch's Cackle Focus Spell allow you to control a minion?


Rules Discussion


Cackle description: With a quick burst of laughter, you prolong a magical effect you created. You Sustain a Spell.

Minion Trait description: Your minion acts on your turn in combat, once per turn, when you spend an action to issue it commands.... for a minion that’s a spell or magic item effect, like a summoned minion, you Sustain a Spell or Sustain an Activation

From my reading it seems the answer is yes, but I'm curious what others think.


Dire Ursus wrote:

Cackle description: With a quick burst of laughter, you prolong a magical effect you created. You Sustain a Spell.

Minion Trait description: Your minion acts on your turn in combat, once per turn, when you spend an action to issue it commands.... for a minion that’s a spell or magic item effect, like a summoned minion, you Sustain a Spell or Sustain an Activation

From my reading it seems the answer is yes, but I'm curious what others think.

Well, if it's a minion that's a spell or magic item effect, then yes. Not sure what you're asking since you apparently included the answer to your question, in your question.


Cackle is a free action so you are not actually spending an action to sustain so probably not.


Yes, the act (not action type) of sustaining is what allows the control. Cackle and the level 16 free concentration feat both allow you to do the normal benefits of sustaining any spell, just without the action cost.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Does the Witch's Cackle Focus Spell allow you to control a minion? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.