Stone oracle and two weapon fighting


Rules Questions


I have a campaign where a player wants to play a goblin stone oracle that uses the rock throwing relevation to gain the rock throwing ability. He states that he can use two weapon fighting to throw two rocks a turn. I think its a cool idea and build but want to make sure it works or if there are penalties he will take because of using improvised weapons.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

What states that the rocks are improvised weapons?

If we look at the statblock of a monster with the rockthrowing ability it doesn't seem to be an improvised weapon.

A Treant has a +7 to hit with rocks. This comes from the following:

BAB: +9
Dex: -1
Huge: -2
Rock Throwing: +1

This results in the +7 that we see in the stat block. If it were considered to be an improvised weapon there would be an additional -4. Meaning the Treant would only have +3 to hit with rocks not +7.

For all practical purposes Rock Throwing grants proficiency in throwing rocks in addition to the +1 to hit with them.

As for two weapon fighting with them.

Weapon Size wrote:
A weapon’s size category isn’t the same as its size as an object. Instead, a weapon’s size category is keyed to the size of the intended wielder. In general, a light weapon is an object two size categories smaller than the wielder, a one-handed weapon is an object one size category smaller than the wielder, and a two-handed weapon is an object of the same size category as the wielder.

The thrown rock as defined by the rock throwing ability seems to fall into the light weapon category. So, it can be used with 2 weapon fighting with only a -2 to hit with each attack. However, because the rocks are not identified as being ammunition, it still takes a move action to draw one. So, they would also need the feat Quick Draw in order to continue to make full attacks on a regular basis.


Thank you for the detailed reply! I'll let my player know it works but would need quick draw to do more full attacks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Stone oracle and two weapon fighting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.