Paragon's stance and shields


Rules Discussion


Given a character with 2 shields:

- will the paragon's guard allow the character to have both shields raised?

- what about using the shield raise action instead? Will you have to expend 1 action x shield or just the "raise shield" Action once?


Why would you want to have two shields raised? Raise a Shield provides the shield AC bonus as a circumstance bonus. Two circumstance bonuses don't stack. Regardless of whether you have one shield raised, two shields raised, or 15 shields raised, you will still only get a single instance of the AC bonus.

As an academic argument, both Raise a Shield and Paragon's Guard mention shield in the singular, so if I had to rule it, RAW it would allow one shield to be raised by Paragon's or by a single action of RaS.


Asethe wrote:
Why would you want to have two shields raised? Raise a Shield provides the shield AC bonus as a circumstance bonus. Two circumstance bonuses don't stack.

The reason is that you could make use of a sturdy shield to perform shieldblock and an utility one to get bonuses ( or even 2 utility shields if you want ).

It would be like having two 1d6 weapons with no traits but shield raise ( + something else, depends the shield ).

To make a concrete example, imagine having a spellguard shield and dragonslayer shield.

Assuming that by lvl 12 you'd be able to have your shields raised because of the guard, you'll have

+2 circ ac
+2 circ reflex bonus ( against aoe stuff )
+2 circ will bonus against a dragon’s frightful presence
+2 Circ bonus against single target spells

by default.
It's not that much ( considering that circ bonuses don't overlap ), but that was only meant to show the intent.


Fair enough. There are martial arts that employ two shields together, after all

There is nothing in the rules to prevent you raising two shields, but as I mentioned, the actions raise a single shield, so each has to be raised separately to gain a Raise benefit.


Yes, I would say that Paragon's Guard Stance would count as having both Shields Raised.

The Raise a Shield Action on its own would need to be used twice if not using Paragon's Guard Stance.

Asethe wrote:
Why would you want to have two shields raised? Raise a Shield provides the shield AC bonus as a circumstance bonus. Two circumstance bonuses don't stack. Regardless of whether you have one shield raised, two shields raised, or 15 shields raised, you will still only get a single instance of the AC bonus.

So if you somehow got multiple Shield Block Reactions (Quick Shield Block), you could still use them even if one Shield breaks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Paragon's stance and shields All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.