Swashbuckler Opportune Parry and Riposte (Ex): Follow up Attack vounts as AoO?


Rules Questions


Hi,

I was wondering about the Swasbucklers' Opportune Parry and Riposte Deed.
The first Attack Roll, the one to parry counts as an AoO, no confusion there.
But the deed is further described as:

"Upon performing a successful parry and if she has at least 1 panache point, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action make an attack against the creature whose attack she parried"

Since this follow-up attack or Riposte technically comes from an AoO, does this attack also count as an AoO for the purpose of
A: A Characters' total amount of possible AoOs per Round
B: The effects of traits, Talents, etc. on AoOs

Would love to get some clarification on that,

Thanks in advance


the first attack roll counts as an AOO but is not one, small difference that doesn't matter but that's how it is.

the immediate action attack is not an AOO nor does it count as one for things that care about AOO's


So the Parry part uses an AoO attempt and counts as an AoO for the attack roll, which basically means you don't take the iterative attack penalty.

Quote:
At 1st level, when an opponent makes a melee attack against the swashbuckler, she can spend 1 panache point and expend a use of an attack of opportunity to attempt to parry that attack. The swashbuckler makes an attack roll as if she were making an attack of opportunity; for each size category the attacking creature is larger than the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler takes a –2 penalty on this roll. If her result is greater than the attacking creature’s result, the creature’s attack automatically misses. The swashbuckler must declare the use of this ability after the creature’s attack is announced, but before its attack roll is made. Upon performing a successful parry and if she has at least 1 panache point, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action make an attack against the creature whose attack she parried, provided that creature is within her reach. This deed's cost cannot be reduced by any ability or effect that reduces the number of panache points a deed costs.

So yes you are limited to the number of AoO in a round for the parry, and share the pool with regular AoO. But it is important to remember that the Parry is similar but separate and distinct from AoO.

Things that specifically affect AoO probably wont affect Parry, because it really only shares the pool of use and non-iterative attack penalty traits.

The Riposte is completely separate and has nothing to do with AoO except that you have to perform a Parry first, and it's kind of like an AoO.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Swashbuckler Opportune Parry and Riposte (Ex): Follow up Attack vounts as AoO? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions