Trip in General


Rules Discussion

Liberty's Edge

Hello All-

I am new to 2e and have a very basic, at least it seems so, question. It involves trip attempts with unarmed attacks. One area says you need a weapon with the ‘trip trait’. But it is also said that ‘if you don’t have a hand free’. In 1e for a monk it was just CMB/CMD. So, basically, can an unarmed monk make a trip attempt (leg sweep, hip toss, etc)? Or is it something that you can only do in say Wolf Stance.

To make it even more confusing is Flurry of Maneuvers says you can replace an attack of Flurry of Blows to make a trip, shove ot disarm. So when you get that maneuvers feat you can do all of it unarmed?

Please, like I said we’re new here with this. So if this an ignorant question I apologize ahead of time.

Thank you in advance.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

1. If your hands are not full, you can trip without requiring a weapon trait. Whether or not you are a monk does not affect this.

2. If you have the Trip weapon trait on an unarmed attack, like the Wolf stance strike, you can apply any item bonus you have to unarmed attacks (as from magical handwraps) to your trip attempt.

2A. Having finesse as Trip both on a weapon or unarmed atrack may allow the use of DEX instead of STR on the athletics roll to trip. This is debated, and you should absolutely not assume it without speaking with your GM. If you search this forum, you'll find a few different threads of that argument.

3. Flurry of Blows normally only allows you to make strikes as part of the activity. Flurry of maneuvers allows you to use maneuvers instead of strikes with flurry of blows, specifically. It has nothing to do with making maneuvers unarmed.

Liberty's Edge

They have actually simplified combat maneuvers in 2e.

Anyone can attempt to trip someone else. It is a single action that has the Attack trait, which means is the multiple attack penalty will apply.

Normally, one could not attempt to trip another within a flurry of blows. But flurry of maneuvers allows one or both of the flurry of blows attacks to be replaced with a shove, disarm, or trip.

The action actually says you have a free hand. It does not say anything about not having a free hand. Yes, these can be done unarmed.

Some weapons have a trait called Trip or Shove that allows those weapons to be used to make the check. The advantage of using the a weapon could be reach and that attempt includes any plus that the weapon may have. This is also where you may have seen comment about being able to do the attempt even if you don't have a free hand.

Most combat maneuvers require an Athletics check vs the targets Reflex DC. The Reflex DC is the modifier plus 10.

Liberty's Edge

HammerJack wrote:

1. If your hands are not full, you can trip without requiring a weapon trait. Whether or not you are a monk does not affect this.

2. If you have the Trip weapon trait on an unarmed attack, like the Wolf stance strike, you can apply any item bonus you have to unarmed attacks (as from magical handwraps) to your trip attempt.

2A. Having finesse as Trip both on a weapon or unarmed atrack may allow the use of DEX instead of STR on the athletics roll to trip. This is debated, and you should absolutely not assume it without speaking with your GM. If you search this forum, you'll find a few different threads of that argument.

3. Flurry of Blows normally only allows you to make strikes as part of the activity. Flurry of maneuvers allows you to use maneuvers instead of strikes with flurry of blows, specifically. It has nothing to do with making maneuvers unarmed.

Hey Hammer,

First, thanks for the thorough reply.

As a follow up, is there anywhere in the book(s) that states that? I am NOT doubting you at all. I just want to share it with my son.

Thanks again!

Liberty's Edge

Gary Bush wrote:

They have actually simplified combat maneuvers in 2e.

Anyone can attempt to trip someone else. It is a single action that has the Attack trait, which means is the multiple attack penalty will apply.

Normally, one could not attempt to trip another within a flurry of blows. But flurry of maneuvers allows one or both of the flurry of blows attacks to be replaced with a shove, disarm, or trip.

The action actually says you have a free hand. It does not say anything about not having a free hand. Yes, these can be done unarmed.

Some weapons have a trait called Trip or Shove that allows those weapons to be used to make the check. The advantage of using the a weapon could be reach and that attempt includes any plus that the weapon may have. This is also where you may have seen comment about being able to do the attempt even if you don't have a free hand.

Most combat maneuvers require an Athletics check vs the targets Reflex DC. The Reflex DC is the modifier plus 10.

Thanks man

Liberty's Edge

As far as I know, there is not a single place in the CRB that is laid out like Hammer stated it. It is spread out as each piece is talked about.

The Trip Action, the Trip weapon trait, and the Athletics skill are the main places to look.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

A place in the book that states which part?

Part 1 is under the athletics section in Skills, where the only requirement I'd a free hand.

Part 2 is under the definition of the Trip trait, under weapons

Part 2A is, as mentioned, a big, messy debate that relies on people reading the definition of the Attack trait differently, as it relates to skill actions that are attacks. There are whole threads on that.

Part 3 is in the definition if Flurry of blows, on the 2nd page if the monk entry. Fob allows you to make two strikes, normally. There is no general rule to allow combat maneuvers to be substituted for strikes.

If there's a more specific question, I can probably give you a quote and page number.


You will find the information in the Athletics actions.

Archive of Nethys Trip

And in the weapon trait itself.

Archive of Nethys Trip trait

Liberty's Edge

HammerJack wrote:

A place in the book that states which part?

Part 1 is under the athletics section in Skills, where the only requirement I'd a free hand.

Part 2 is under the definition of the Trip trait, under weapons

Part 2A is, as mentioned, a big, messy debate that relies on people reading the definition of the Attack trait differently, as it relates to skill actions that are attacks. There are whole threads on that.

Part 3 is in the definition if Flurry of blows, on the 2nd page if the monk entry. Fob allows you to make two strikes, normally. There is no general rule to allow combat maneuvers to be substituted for strikes.

If there's a more specific question, I can probably give you a quote and page number.

Thanks again sir

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Trip in General All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion