Magic Fang for Golems


Rules Questions


So I've recently had a wizard player ask if they were imbue their Homunculus Familiar with ability to cast Magic Fang, using the Spell-Like Ability Improvement listed in the Improved Homunculi section in the bottom portion Homunculus bestiary entry, if their Homunculus would be able to use it on itself. I initially thought that, no the Homunculus cannot be affected by magic fang as it is not a living creature. However the only forum discussion I could find on the subject 'Magic Items for Golems' didn't address this issue at all. Instead they discussed the issue of a constructs spell immunity. I am of the opinion the Homunculus, being intelligent, could lower any spell immunity it may have, so I am not worried about that issue. However the fact that this was never mentioned leads me to believe I am over looking something when it comes to whether or not a Homunculus is a living creature.

TL;DR Can Homunculi be affected by magic fang?

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think your original inclination is right. The homunculus probably is not living, therefore is not a valid target for the spell. This is not clearly stated in the description, nor in the Construct creature type rules, but is strongly implied in the latter. Constructs share many key traits solely with the only other non-living creature type, undead. No healing, resurrection, CON score, etc. They are destroyed, not killed.

That said, if you are playing in a home game, it sounds fun, and isn’t a gateway to some game-breaking power move, why not?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The closest thing to an official definition of "living creature" I know of is a post by JJ from 2009 stating that living creatures are creatures with Constitution scores. That isn't really an official rules post, though, so you're only marginally better off than the default "what even is life?" situation.

Of course, your wizard could just research a homunculus-only version of the spell and imbue it with that.


Ferka and blahpers, thank you for the insight! I will probably just have my wizard spend some time researching a special version of the spell for their homunculus, as Ferka stated, it is hardly a game breaking enhancement. I think this will make for some interesting encounters in the future, considering constructs as non-living.


Can Homunculi be affected by magic fang?
short: Yes
Long: homunculi are a weird hybrid of living tissue and clay golem and kinda, sorta count as both.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Fang for Golems All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions