Staff of Divination


Rules Discussion


Sorry for the noob question my friends, but can non arcane casters use a staff of Divination? And how many charges do you have on the base staff of Divination?


Atalius wrote:
Sorry for the noob question my friends, but can non arcane casters use a staff of Divination? And how many charges do you have on the base staff of Divination?

Effectively no. The staff gets charges equal to the highest spell slot the person who attunes... err, invests in it has. For non spellcasters or casters with only cantrips, that number is 0. you could potentially attune to it for its other benefit (I believe), but that's likely not worth it.


Oh ok so a Druid could use it though?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Atalius wrote:
Sorry for the noob question my friends, but can non arcane casters use a staff of Divination? And how many charges do you have on the base staff of Divination?

See the rules on CRB 592. Any spellcaster can invest the staff to give it charges, but actually casting its spells requires the below.

Quote:

A staff gains charges when someone prepares it for the day.

The person who prepared a staff can expend the charges to cast spells from it. You can Cast a Spell from a staff only if you have that spell on your spell list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate level, and expend a number of charges from the staff equal to the spell’s level.

Some of the spells on the various staffs of divination are on non-arcane lists (and I think all are on occult, too), but if a particular spell isn't on your list (e.g. True Strike and you're primal) you can't use it unless you have a relevant skill feat that lets you fake it somehow.


Thanks a lot.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Staff of Divination All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion