| Aubearus |
So haven't seen this addressed. In the book nimble dodge is a reaction. On roll20 which is a download from paizo it's an 1-action reaction. I've also looked around the web and find it referred to in the same way as roll20. So, does the character have to use one of his/hers actions on their turn to have the reaction?
| HammerJack |
If the digital download you're talking abut is the Core Rulebook, it says reaction. This is the same digital or hardcopy.
If you're talking about something else, please give the name of the download you mean so that I can check in the right place.
| CrystalSeas |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
In my PDF of the Core Rulebook, Nimble Dodges has a "reaction" symbol
1ST LEVEL
NIMBLE DODGE [one-action[reaction] FEAT 1
ROGUE
Trigger A creature targets you with an attack and you can see the attacker.
Requirements You are not encumbered.
You deftly dodge out of the way, gaining a +2 circumstance bonus to AC against the
triggering attack.
The page itself shows the symbol.
But the underlying description of the symbol has an unclosed bracket, and what looks like an error.
The [reaction] symbol is what shows on both the PDF page and the printed page. But it looks like there is a stray bit of machine-readable code that is an open bracket followed by 'one-action'.
Since there is no closing bracket, it doesn't display anywhere. Looks like Roll20 is adding in the closing bracket and forcing the 'one-action' symbol to display in error.
| Gisher |
In my PDF of the Core Rulebook, Nimble Dodges has a "reaction" symbol
Core Rulebook wrote:1ST LEVEL
NIMBLE DODGE [one-action[reaction] FEAT 1
ROGUE
Trigger A creature targets you with an attack and you can see the attacker.
Requirements You are not encumbered.
You deftly dodge out of the way, gaining a +2 circumstance bonus to AC against the
triggering attack.The page itself shows the symbol.
But the underlying description of the symbol has an unclosed bracket, and what looks like an error.
The [reaction] symbol is what shows on both the PDF page and the printed page. But it looks like there is a stray bit of machine-readable code that is an open bracket followed by 'one-action'.
Since there is no closing bracket, it doesn't display anywhere. Looks like Roll20 is adding in the closing bracket and forcing the 'one-action' symbol to display in error.
That makes sense.
| CrystalSeas |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
That's interesting. I'd never heard of Roll20 before, and I couldn't find it in the Paizo store. (But I often find the Paizo store difficult to search.)
Roll20 is a 3rd party licensee that provides Virtual Table Top (VTT) services for playing Pathfinder (and other paper and pencil role-playing games) online. If you have bought certain Paizo products from Paizo, you get a discount when you buy those same assets on Roll20.
They aren't in the store; they're a website.Roll20
| Aubearus |
Roll20's
Nimble Dodge
Nimble Dodge [one-action[reaction] (Feat 1)
Rogue
Trigger A creature targets you with an Attack and you can see the attacker.
Requirements You are not encumbered.
You deftly dodge out of the way, gaining a +2 circumstance bonus to AC against the triggering Attack.
Here is Roll20's reactive shield for instance:
Reactive Shield
Reactive Shield [reaction] (Feat 1)
Fighter
Trigger An enemy hits you with a melee Strike.
Requirements You are wielding a Shield.
You can snap your Shield into place just as you would take a blow, avoiding the hit at the last second. You immediately use the Raise a Shield action and gain your shield’s bonus to AC. The circumstance bonus from the Shield applies to your AC when you’re determining the outcome of the triggering Attack.
I've also looked it up on several other threads and find the description 1-action reaction. Like you have to use one of your three actions to prep to have the reaction like the dodge feature in 5e.Just wondering if Paizo changed something in the digital version that didn't make it into the book, but @HammerJack looks as if he has the digital and hard back which say reaction.
| CrystalSeas |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I've also looked it up on several other threads and find the description 1-action reaction. Like you have to use one of your three actions to prep to have the reaction like the dodge feature in 5e.Just wondering if Paizo changed something in the digital version that didn't make it into the book, but @HammerJack looks as if he has the digital and hard back which say reaction.
The error is in the machine readable code in the PDF.
I too have both the digital and hard copy versions of the Core Rulebook.
The PDF displays only the "reaction" symbol. The print version displays only the "reaction" symbol.
The string [one action is a stray bit of machine code that is only visible when you copy the digital background of the PDF. It is not visible to anyone who uses either the PDF or the Core Rulebook.
It is a hidden mistake.
It does not exist in either of the official versions of the core rulebook when you view them or print them
| Draco18s |
Aubearus wrote:Not to argue the point, but our Paizo accounts sync directly with Roll20.That's interesting. I'd never heard of Roll20 before, and I couldn't find it in the Paizo store. (But I often find the Paizo store difficult to search.)
Should have tried google. :)
https://roll20.net/| Gisher |
Gisher wrote:Aubearus wrote:Not to argue the point, but our Paizo accounts sync directly with Roll20.That's interesting. I'd never heard of Roll20 before, and I couldn't find it in the Paizo store. (But I often find the Paizo store difficult to search.)Should have tried google. :)
https://roll20.net/
What's google?