| Runehacking |
The ectoplasmic lashes from the extoplasmist get a lot explained, except what they exactly are. There is no weapon group or any trait on them... the only things defined are the type of damage (slashing or blungeoning), how many hands they take up and whenever or not they are light weapons.
So my question is mainly... are they wielded? Or are they natural weapons? Unarmed strikes? And if they're wielded, what weapon group would they fit in?
Or can the ectoplasmist just decide these things for themselves? As in, an ectoplasmist can maybe claim his great grandfather had a scimitar, of which he is now wielding the ghost version (spawns the 1H ectoplasmic lash). But in that case, would feats surrounding scimitars apply on the lash?
It also says the lashes can perform tasks at their range with the same dexterity as the ectoplasmist's own hands. Does that mean they can be used to perform combat manouvres like grapples? Given they come with ghost touch later... you could grab ghosts?
The last thing I'm wondering about is what happends when the lash is dropped... is that even possible? Or is it then automaticly dismissed? (meaning you could disarm the ectoplasmist and he'd have to spend a full round respawning his lashes, rather than just picking them back up)
Or will they stay until picked up... but then how long can they stay? Can the ectoplasmist just leave behind a trail of dropped lashes?
| Chell Raighn |
They are treated as manufactured weapons, they do not belong to any specific weapon groups and do not benefit from feats that apply to specific weapons or weapon groups, if you can select the weapon for the feat you may select your ectoplasmic lash however (such as for weapon focus). They are NOT natural weapons, they are wielded. You can choose to give them a specific appearance if you desire, but doing so is purely superficial.
At 1st level, as a full-round action an ectoplasmatist can manifest one or two lashes of ectoplasm tethered to her by wispy, ectoplasmic tendrils. If she manifests two lashes, she can wield them both as light melee weapons, each dealing 1d6 points of slashing damage (1d4 if the ectoplasmatist is Small) with a critical threat range and multiplier of 19–20/×2. If the ectoplasmatist manifests only one lash, she can manifest it either as a single one-handed melee weapon that deals 1d8 points of slashing damage (1d6 if the ectoplasmatist is Small) with a critical threat range and multiplier of 19–20/×2, or as a two-handed melee weapon that deals 2d6 points of bludgeoning damage (1d10 if the ectoplasmatist is Small) with a critical multiplier of ×2. Only the ectoplasmatist can wield or use these lashes. Dismissing any or all manifested lashes is a free action.
Keep in mind, not every weapon fits a weapon group, these are one such weapon.
| Runehacking |
They are treated as manufactured weapons
Sort of like improved weapons... except these qualify as actual weapons, and have no link to improvised weapon feats?
they do not belong to any specific weapon groups and do not benefit from feats that apply to specific weapons or weapon groups, if you can select the weapon for the feat you may select your ectoplasmic lash however (such as for weapon focus). They are NOT natural weapons, they are wielded.
Ah, so only feats that specifically target the exact weapon, not something that targets a weapon group?
(aside from slashing grace and the like, I assume... since they are listed as slashing - or bludgeoning on the 2H version)| Chell Raighn |
Chell Raighn wrote:They are treated as manufactured weaponsSort of like improved weapons... except these qualify as actual weapons, and have no link to improvised weapon feats?
Chell Raighn wrote:they do not belong to any specific weapon groups and do not benefit from feats that apply to specific weapons or weapon groups, if you can select the weapon for the feat you may select your ectoplasmic lash however (such as for weapon focus). They are NOT natural weapons, they are wielded.Ah, so only feats that specifically target the exact weapon, not something that targets a weapon group?
(aside from slashing grace and the like, I assume... since they are listed as slashing - or bludgeoning on the 2H version)
Correct... they are fully functional weapons that belong to no weapon group. Feats that target a specific weapon of your choice can target them, and feats that affect weapons based on damage type or category (light, one-handed, two-handed) can also affect them.
| Chell Raighn |
The ability has no special rules regarding combat maneuvers, so treat them like any other melee weapon that lacks special qualities for improving their effectiveness.
As for dropping them. The fact that they ability makes note to call out that only the ectoplasmist can wield the lashes, then it is implied that they can be disarmed or dropped. This implication is further supported by the fact that the description does not say that they can't be disarmed nor does it say that dropping the lash dismisses it automatically. As such, you're lash can be dropped or disarmed and you can pick it back up as any normal weapon.