Wizard spells each level


Rules Discussion

Scarab Sages

This might be a stupid question: as a specialist wizard, how many spells do i add to my spellbook each level? The class entry says 2, but also in the arcane school part it says:
"You gain additional spells and spell slots for spells of your school."
Of couse you get an extra spell slot for each level, but it is unclear to me if you also get an extra spell on your spellbook at each level or just at the first level, because it just says "You also add another arcane spell of your chosen school to your spellbook."


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You only add 2 spells at level up. The additional spell you get for Arcane School is a level 1 spell added at creation, as detailed in each school.

Scarab Sages

Ok, thanks, I was a little confused about the use of plural in "you gain additional spellS and spell slots".
I guess it refers to focus spells.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

"spells" is plural because you choose 2 spells as a result of your school, one cantrip and one 1st-level level.

Sovereign Court

Personally, I would rule that the School Wizard learns and can cast 1 additional spell of each spell level that he knows as long as the extra spell belongs to his Specialty school. So, at 1st level he gains an additional level 1 spell in his school, and he then gains a level 2 school spell at class level 3, a lvl 3 school spell at class level 5, and so on.

This balances against the Universalist Wizard being able to Drain Bonded Item to recast a spell for every level of spells that he knows, so once at lvl 1, twice at lvl 3, 3 times at lvl 5, and so on. If the School Specialist was only supposed to get 1 additional spell at level 1, I think the Universalist would just be able to Drain Bonded Item twice per day, and that's it.


Samurai wrote:
This balances against the Universalist Wizard

Universalist gets to drain once per spell level instead of getting one additional spell slot per level like specialists get.

Strictly speaking it's not 'balanced' insofar as that Specialists end up with an additional slot because they can Drain too.

Quote:
If the School Specialist was only supposed to get 1 additional spell at level 1, I think the Universalist would just be able to Drain Bonded Item twice per day, and that's it.

I think you're confusing spell and spell slots.

Specialists get one spell slot per level (including an extra prepared cantrip), but only one free spell added to their spellbook.

A Universalist who only got to Drain twice would be pretty underwhelming, since you'd be trading away a focus spell and nine spell slots for a single bonus feat.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Wizard spells each level All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.