Can Mavaro recover spells?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


1. Mavaro from the Mummy's Mask set has the following power:

Quote:
You may display a card to gain all skills listed on the check to acquire for that card equal to your Intelligence until the end of the turn. . . At the end of the turn, recharge the displayed cards.
Core Set Rulebook, page 6 said wrote:
End Your Turn: First, apply any effects that happen at the end of your turn. . . . Then, if you have any cards in a recovery pile, do whatever they say to do during recovery.

Mavaro does not have the Arcane or Divine skill. If he displays a card with Arcane or Divine in the check to acquire, he recharges the card during the "At the end of the turn" phase. This means the cards are gone during the recovery phase. Does he still have those skills, or must he banish any spells he played during that turn?

2. Mavaro from the Occult Adventures deck has the following power:

Quote:
Play with the top card of your deck faceup. You gain all skills that could be used to acquire that card equal to your Intelligence skill.

If he plays a spell during his turn, perhaps because he has an Arcane or Divine card faceup, but then something makes him discard that top card or shuffle his deck or something, it seems he, too, could be forced to banish any spells he played during the turn.

He does have a power on his role card:
Quote:
You may discard a card to search your deck for a card and set it aside; shuffle your deck, then put that card on top.

I'm guessing he could use this power during recovery to put a card with Arcane or Divine check on top of his deck to allow him to keep his spell(s)?

Thanks!


2 people marked this as a favorite.

If you check the Conversion Guide you will note that Mavaro now has Arcane and Divine proficiencies, which solve the problem of him not having Arcane/Divine skill that would be converted to proficiency under the new rules.


zeroth_hour2 wrote:
If you check the Conversion Guide you will note that Mavaro now has Arcane and Divine proficiencies, which solve the problem of him not having Arcane/Divine skill that would be converted to proficiency under the new rules.

Ahh, thanks!

We looked at the conversion guide, but didn't see the proficiencies section.

Out of curiosity, could the Occult Adventures Mavaro use the power I noted to get a different skill for the recovery period?


Whipstitch wrote:
Out of curiosity, could the Occult Adventures Mavaro use the power I noted to get a different skill for the recovery period?

You can play cards and use powers for the recovery check if they affect the recovery check. A card or power affects the recovery check if it changes one of the skills used for the recovery check.

eg Mavaro has Mind Thrust (Arcane/Perception to recharge) in recovery and the Staff of Minor Healing (Wisdom/Divine to acquire) on top of his deck. He can use his power to search for Force Missile (Intelligence/Arcane to acquire) since it changes his Arcane skill (from 1d4 to d8+1+INT mod since the Intelligence as top of deck skills power is always in play). He can also use his power to search for Conch shell (Wisdom/Perception to acquire) in the same manner. But he wouldn't be able to search for Social Climber (Charisma/Diplomacy to acquire) since it didn't change either of those skills.

However, since Mavaro's power doesn't apply when something specific happens, he can only use it once per step. This means that for the whole of the end of turn step, he can only use it once. So if he used his power during another end of turn check, he couldn't use it again for recovery (end of turn and recovery are the same step).


Superb! Thanks again!


zeroth_hour2 wrote:
However, since Mavaro's power doesn't apply when something specific happens, he can only use it once per step. This means that for the whole of the end of turn step, he can only use it once. So if he used his power during another end of turn check, he couldn't use it again for recovery (end of turn and recovery are the same step).

I don't agree with this assessment, because you can use a power once per step or check.

For example, if you had a character power that said "Recharge a card to add 1d4 to your check", you could absolutely use it in a single exploration step multiple times - such as for a Before Acting check, a check to defeat, a sequential check to defeat, then an After Acting check.

In the same vein, you can repeatedly use Mavaro's power (as long as it's always relevantly impacting your check, such as by giving you a new, relevant skill) for checks taking place in the same step. For example, you could gain the Perception skill to recharge Mind Thrust, then the Arcane skill to recharge Invisibility, then the Divine skill to recharge Cure, all in the same Recovery Step.

This is no different to Core Ezren buffing more than one of his Recovery checks.


Yewstance wrote:
zeroth_hour2 wrote:
However, since Mavaro's power doesn't apply when something specific happens, he can only use it once per step. This means that for the whole of the end of turn step, he can only use it once. So if he used his power during another end of turn check, he couldn't use it again for recovery (end of turn and recovery are the same step).

I don't agree with this assessment, because you can use a power once per step or check.

For example, if you had a character power that said "Recharge a card to add 1d4 to your check", you could absolutely use it in a single exploration step multiple times - such as for a Before Acting check, a check to defeat, a sequential check to defeat, then an After Acting check.

With due respect to my esteemed colleague Yewstance, this example compares apples and oranges. Vic has said in this forum that the pertinent unit for the "once per step or check" rule is the smallest unit the character is executing - so the Explore step doesn't come into consideration at all. Instead, the step of the encounter pertains. (Vic said the parts of a turn and the parts of an encounter are both called "steps" in an attempt to make this interpretation easier to grasp (a failed attempt, IMHO).)

The end of turn does not have "sub-steps" like the Explore step does. OTOH, it *does* have, potentially, multiple checks, so I agree a power that can be used "once per step or check" can be used on each check (since the check is the smallest unit being executed).*

*Maybe this was Yewstance's point, but I didn't get this from his** words.
**Pronoun assumed. Apologies if incorrect. (I should probably already know, but am aging prematurely.)


elcoderdude wrote:


The end of turn does not have "sub-steps" like the Explore step does. OTOH, it *does* have, potentially, multiple checks, so I agree a power that can be used "once per step or check" can be used on each check (since the check is the smallest unit being executed).*

*Maybe this was Yewstance's point, but I didn't get this from his** words.
**Pronoun assumed. Apologies if incorrect. (I should probably already know, but am aging prematurely.)

This was my point, but you're right I had a couple of factual inaccuracies (referring to Recovery as a Step, and referring to the Explore Step rather than the smaller-scope Encounter).

Either way; you and I agree that Mavaro's power can be used once for each check (if relevant), thus allowing his power to be practically used multiple times in a single given step under quite a variety of circumstances, as opposed to Zeroth Hour's statement that he could not do so on an End of Turn check plus a Recovery check.

**Gender is accurate, but I wouldn't have taken offense in any case regardless.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ah I get why I was mistaken.

p.8, Encountering a Card wrote:
If a character power applies when a specific thing happens, you may use it each time that happens; otherwise, you may use each power no more than once per step.

As opposed to

p.7, Playing Cards wrote:
If a character power applies when a specific thing happens, you may use it each time that happens; otherwise, you may use each power no more than once per check or step.

Rulebook editing, how fun are you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Can Mavaro recover spells? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion