Staff usage in PFS2 (not PFS1)


Pathfinder Society

The Exchange 1/5

Do we have a ruling as to how to use staffs if you are BOTH a prepared and a spontaneous caster?

1) Do you need to be able to cast the actual spell on the staff at the same level or
2) do you just need to be able to have spell slots of the same level and have access to the list(either MCD or basic spellcasting)?

I assume the second answer is correct but that is just interpretation

I am about to buy a staff and want to make sure I can use it

Since it appears that a staff is basically an efficient set of wands ( spell levels staying static and balanced by requiring invest and spell level charging), I would assume that it uses the wand rules in those cases

2/5 5/5 **

Quote:
You can Cast a Spell from a staff only if you have that spell on your spell list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate level, and expend a number of charges from the staff equal to the spell’s level.

If you are a spellcaster base class and have the spells on your appropriate class list, it seems pretty straight forward (#2).

However, since you threw in Multiclass Dedication, it looks like you're trying to figure out if you can cross class spells from staves of levels higher than you can in the respective discipline (arcane mcd cleric trying to cast heal off of a staff when they only have access to divine cantrips, for example). I don't know the answer. I would hedge toward an interpretation of "you need a spell slot of the appropriate level and spell list," but it doesn't say that explicitly.

The Exchange 1/5

Blake's Tiger wrote:
Quote:
You can Cast a Spell from a staff only if you have that spell on your spell list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate level, and expend a number of charges from the staff equal to the spell’s level.

If you are a spellcaster base class and have the spells on your appropriate class list, it seems pretty straight forward (#2).

However, since you threw in Multiclass Dedication, it looks like you're trying to figure out if you can cross class spells from staves of levels higher than you can in the respective discipline (arcane mcd cleric trying to cast heal off of a staff when they only have access to divine cantrips, for example). I don't know the answer. I would hedge toward an interpretation of "you need a spell slot of the appropriate level and spell list," but it doesn't say that explicitly.

That is the question. All the other question would flow from it. Are the two staff requirements inextricably linked (appropriate spell slot in the relevant tradition list)? If they were , why make them two requirements and not just the easy one requirement I just mentioned. Since they are two separate requirements, I would treat them as independent.

If they are separate/independent, 1) you have a spell slot of the appropriate level regardless of list (thus can cast a 5th level Arcane for example) and 2) you have access to the list regardless of the level of spell you have access to in that list (thus could have access to Divine list at MCD or Basic level). This means that I could cast Breath of Life from a staff even if I my spell slots via MDC is too low. Bear in mind that I could easily cast from a wand of Breath of Life since the only requirement is access to the list

If they are inextricably linked then arises the question of how many charges does the staff get if the staff contains both arcane and divine spells and I can cast 5th level Arcane and 3rd level Divine

2/5 5/5 **

I haven't look past the first few staves. Is there one with arcane exclusive and divine exclusive spells both on the staff?

If they exist, one might interpret that as you can only use the spells on the staff you qualify to use.

You'll probably get a better set of responses and more visibility to the designers if you post in PF2 Rules rather than the PFS forum. This isn't really a PFS specific situation.

However, the "why the two requirements" seems obvious to me. I need a 2nd level spell slot naturally to qualify to cast a 2nd level spell off of the staff AND that spell has to be one I could, if I knew it, cast from the tradition I'm using without the staff.

The Exchange 1/5

Blake's Tiger wrote:

I haven't look past the first few staves. Is there one with arcane exclusive and divine exclusive spells both on the staff?

If they exist, one might interpret that as you can only use the spells on the staff you qualify to use.

You'll probably get a better set of responses and more visibility to the designers if you post in PF2 Rules rather than the PFS forum. This isn't really a PFS specific situation.

However, the "why the two requirements" seems obvious to me. I need a 2nd level spell slot naturally to qualify to cast a 2nd level spell off of the staff AND that spell has to be one I could, if I knew it, cast from the tradition I'm using without the staff.

Actually, I did post it there also. Of course, once you say it needs the actual rules for PFS play rather than guesses, they say it needs to go in the PFS forum :)

As to list. Consider if I take a Druid (Primal) and then MCD Cleric (Divine). I get to be a 12th level druid but only have MCD Cleric or even Cleric Basic Spellcasting. Can I cast Breath of Life (divine exclusive) from a Staff of Healing? If it was a wand of Breath of Life, I can easily do it.

I think that is what is throwing me. I can cast spells from a wands and scrolls even if I could not normally cast them as long as they are on my list. Why should it be different for a staff? Only the staff is different and my feeling is that the level recharge is ONLY there to provide the power.

As to the two requirements, I provided a simple requirement that would have been easier and more understandable "appropriate spell slot in the relevant tradition list" Why separate them unless they were meant to be separate?

Consider that Staffs are basically just a collection of wands. So why have a set of rule mechanics for wands and scrolls and a separate one for staves since they are not really different (spells in staves are static spell level like wands and both heighten dc automatically)

2/5 5/5 **

That will happen over there if you mention PFS, but you're not actually asking about a PFS rule (school training, application of downtime, legality of options, etc).

Anyhow, the benefit of staves is economy. Take a level 1 wand of heal and a staff of healing. A wand of 1st level heal costs 60 gp. A staff of healing costs 90 gp and also gives your natively cast heals a +1 bonus. By 3rd level you're casting 2 heals with no expenditure of resources, 120 gp worth of wands. By 5th level 180 gp worth of wands.

The Exchange 1/5

Yes, I know about the economy which is why I was about to buy one. That action economy is only great for the lower level spells that may be useful unheightened (e.g. Staff of Divination) since you will outlevel the staff almost from the moment you buy it

Unfortunately, this means that I cannot use a particular staff since PFS Gms almost always say "If there is no rule that you can explicitly do it, it is not allowed at the table."

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Campaign Leadership never answers rules questions, and they've actually explicitly requested that rules questions be posted in the Rules Questions Forum.

All you'll get here is "How I'd run it at my table".

The Exchange 1/5

Nefreet wrote:

Campaign Leadership never answers rules questions, and they've actually explicitly requested that rules questions be posted in the Rules Questions Forum.

All you'll get here is "How I'd run it at my table".

Unfortunate that is. That is the same response you get on the rules forum :)

Does Paizo still say they will answer questions on some twitch show? Or do we need to wait until they post a clarification somewhere (and where would that be)?

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Garulo wrote:
Nefreet wrote:

Campaign Leadership never answers rules questions, and they've actually explicitly requested that rules questions be posted in the Rules Questions Forum.

All you'll get here is "How I'd run it at my table".

Unfortunate that is. That is the same response you get on the rules forum :)

Difference being that the responses you've read over in the Rules Forum aren't coming from Paizo.

Garulo wrote:
Does Paizo still say they will answer questions on some twitch show? Or do we need to wait until they post a clarification somewhere (and where would that be)?

The purpose of the Rules Questions Forum is to ask questions and get them answered. I have been involved in countless FAQ requests over there, so I know the process works.

Right now things are probably delayed because they are still shortstaffed and catching up on other projects. Have to pay the bills first, otherwise there will be nobody available to answer FAQs.

The Exchange 1/5

Nefreet wrote:
Garulo wrote:
Nefreet wrote:

Campaign Leadership never answers rules questions, and they've actually explicitly requested that rules questions be posted in the Rules Questions Forum.

All you'll get here is "How I'd run it at my table".

Unfortunate that is. That is the same response you get on the rules forum :)

Difference being that the responses you've read over in the Rules Forum aren't coming from Paizo.

I think I got it now

Rules forum - Even though Campaign leadership has asked that rules questions be posted in the forums, they will never answer them in the forum. They will answer it in an official FAQ/Errata/Twitch/Channel thing (which is coming sometime but won't necessarily answer all the questions). Any answers on the forum are not coming from Paizo/Campaign Leadership but are only opinions therefore they do not count for PFS

Society forum - Campaign leadership will not answer questions here. Any answers on the forum are not coming from Paizo/Campaign Leadership but are only opinions therefore they do not count for PFS

Thus, you choose a character option in PFS and hope the DM accepts your opinion that something should work or the DM doesn't in which case he/she forbids use of the character/option (basically making PFS a variant of a homegame where you only play with particular DMs). So as an example, I am going to buy a staff for a spellcaster who has level 3 slots in Divine and a dedication in Arcane. I expect to be able to use the level 3 arcane spells from the staff since that is my interpretation. Some PFS DMs will accept it while other PFS Dms will forbid it (similar to the Pounce rules from PFS1 where some DMs required a grab before getting the rake and others did not)

Ok, I can understand that. We used to have long college sessions discussing coming up with homebrew interpretations of AD&D so I get that. Thank you

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Wow. No. Nothing like that.

HERE is the post by John Compton (at the time he was a member of Campaign Leadership) explaining how "badly written rules" are handled in Society. This is where he advises that rules questions be posted in the Rules Questions Forum.

That's the whole purpose of the Rules Questions Forum.

Nobody who works on the Society side is a Designer. Designers are the ones who issue answers to rules questions. While sometimes a Designer will answer a question over in the Rules Questions Forum, they ideally want to consolidate answers into the FAQ so people don't have to dig through forum posts looking for answers.

The purpose of this forum is to discuss aspects exclusive to Organized Play. Chronicles, storylines, Fame, Reputation, etc. Things that can't go in other forums. Leadership will answer those questions here. But a rules question is no more their purview than someone from the rules team answering a Society question. Different jobs.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/55/5 ****

Reading this discussion has me confused.

Garulo, what staff you are looking to use and what classes are you looking to play?

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden

@Garulo: sadly, you're mostly correct for how slow the timeline is for getting things clarified. So in the short run, you have the following options:

* Use the option, but at the risk that it doesn't work at every table. Worst case, it doesn't work on a lot of tables.

* Don't use the option, use something else that isn't as ambiguous. You don't get to use your dream option, but you also don't get into arguments.

The Exchange 1/5

Nefreet wrote:

Wow. No. Nothing like that.

Unfortunately, it is exactly like that. Lets take John's example

"GM: Welcome everyone. Let's get settled so that we can start soon.
Player: Hey GM? I recently got a staff the ice tomb hex, and it's been a little weird because I do not know if can use it it doesn't list a range. If it's possible, might I suggest a fair range to use until the matter is resolved on the messageboards?
GM: *Reads about staves the hex* Right you are--it is not clear since by some interpretations you cannot use it there's no range. What have you worked with before?
Player: My last GM said I could use it 60 feet.
GM: Hmmm...I would say you can't use it or you can only use the cantrip 30 feet because otherwise it would be overpowered for the price that seems to the range for lots of other witch hexes. I trust that having an item you cannot use won't ruin how your character works? saying you can only use the cantrip would not really be a compromise
Player: It means that I wasted money on an item that I cannot use It's a little shorter than I'd like, but I can work with it.
GM: Good to hear. Thanks for bringing this up. I hadn't noticed it before."

Interesting, that John says wait until it is resolved on the MESSAGEBOARDS

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Garulo wrote:
Interesting, that John says wait until it is resolved on the MESSAGEBOARDS

Like I said:

"While sometimes a Designer will answer a question over in the Rules Questions Forum, they ideally want to consolidate answers into the FAQ so people don't have to dig through forum posts looking for answers."

The Exchange 1/5

Nefreet wrote:
Garulo wrote:
Interesting, that John says wait until it is resolved on the MESSAGEBOARDS

Like I said:

"While sometimes a Designer will answer a question over in the Rules Questions Forum, they ideally want to consolidate answers into the FAQ so people don't have to dig through forum posts looking for answers."

That's fine and great. I also understand that they need to pay the bills by putting out new stuff (clarifying existing things does not generate revenue). So rather than clogging up the messageboards, I will dust off my characters from PF1 and put PF2 on hold (like most people around here). Note: Tables are still running about 12-15:3 PFS1:PFS2 per month

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If playing or not playing is hinged on the purchase of a single item, it's not the system that's the problem.

2/5 5/5 **

Gary Bush wrote:

Reading this discussion has me confused.

Garulo, what staff you are looking to use and what classes are you looking to play?

He is a wizard or sorcerer with multiclass cleric dedication (2nd level feat) who wants to use a Level 12 Staff of Healing to cast 5th level breath of life with his 5th level arcane slots, which might be how it's supposed to work but I have might doubts, but my bigger question is how he has an 11th or 12th level PFS(2) character to be having his quandry.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/55/5 ****

Blake's Tiger wrote:
Gary Bush wrote:

Reading this discussion has me confused.

Garulo, what staff you are looking to use and what classes are you looking to play?

He is a wizard or sorcerer with multiclass cleric dedication (2nd level feat) who wants to use a Level 12 Staff of Healing to cast 5th level breath of life with his 5th level arcane slots, which might be how it's supposed to work but I have might doubts, but my bigger question is how he has an 11th or 12th level PFS(2) character to be having his quandry.

As to the how there could be 12th level PFS2e legal character now, I will assume the question is intended for discussion so a decision is not made that ultimately useless.

Now that I have sense of what is happening this is what I see reading the rules.

AoN & CRB pg. 592 wrote:
A staff gains charges when someone prepares it for the day. The person who prepared a staff can expend the charges to cast spells from it. You can Cast a Spell from a staff only if you have that spell on your spell list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate level, and expend a number of charges from the staff equal to the spell’s level.

So you have to have at least one spell in the staff on your spell list and able to cast spells of the appropriate spell level.

AoN & CRB pg. 592 wrote:
During your daily preparations, you can prepare a staff to add charges to it for free. When you do so, that staff gains a number of charges equal to the highest-level spell slot you have. You don’t need to expend any spells to add charges in this way. No one can prepare more than one staff per day, nor can a staff be prepared by more than one person per day. If the charges aren’t used within 24 hours, they’re lost, and preparing the staff anew removes any charges previously stored in it. You can prepare a staff only if you have at least one of the staff’s spells on your spell list. Prepared spellcasters and spontaneous spellcasters each have a unique way of altering how their staves gain charges and the ways they can be used

So the staff gains a number of charges equal to the highest spell level you can cast for free.

You can add more charges to the staff and the process is different for the type of caster, Prepared or Spontaneous.

No where do I see anything about the charges gaining a type of magic (ie Divine or Primal). It is a charge that is used by the staff when activating and casting a spell from the staff.

Looking at archetypes.

Spellcasting Archetypes wrote:
A spellcasting archetype allows you to use scrolls, staves, and wands in the same way that a member of a spellcasting class can.

I could not find where it states that a spellcasting archtype adds the spellcasting class spells to their spell list but this heavy implies that they do.

So how I read this question is if the character meets the requirements for the spell then charges are used to activate the staff. I don't see that it matters if the charges were added by a class that does not have the spell being cast on that class's spell list.

2/5 5/5 **

The issue isn't the charges.

The issue is the requirement to use a specific spell imbued on the staff is this: "are able to cast spells of the appropriate level"

It's true that the staff doesn't mention a tradition, but is being able to cast Divine cantrips the same as being able to cast 5th level Divine spells?

For comparison, scroll's requirements:

Quote:
To Cast a Spell from a scroll, the spell must appear on your spell list.

For comparison, wand's requirements:

Quote:
To cast a spell from a wand, it must be on your spell list.

Back to staff:

Quote:
You can Cast a Spell from a staff only if you have that spell on your spell list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate level, and expend a number of charges from the staff equal to the spell’s level.

So that's different for a reason.

And I admit I don't know the answer, but saying a 12th level Wizard can cast Breath of Life spending only a 2nd level class feat vs. the 2nd, 4th, 12th level class feats and being 14th level it would normally require for a Wizard to cast Breath of Life seems out of tune. EDIT: Counterpoint to this is that it is comparatively very cheap to cast a 5th level spell off of a scroll without anything more than the 2nd level feat.

Grand Lodge 4/5 ***** Venture-Captain, Missouri—Columbia

1 person marked this as a favorite.

It will be very helpful when we get clarification on how to upgrade magic items, if that is possible.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden

I wouldn't be surprised if we can never upgrade magic items (beyond shuffling runes around), because the WBL scale happens to be built with replacement calculated in.

The Exchange 1/5

Blake's Tiger wrote:
Gary Bush wrote:

Reading this discussion has me confused.

Garulo, what staff you are looking to use and what classes are you looking to play?

He is a wizard or sorcerer with multiclass cleric dedication (2nd level feat) who wants to use a Level 12 Staff of Healing to cast 5th level breath of life with his 5th level arcane slots, which might be how it's supposed to work but I have might doubts, but my bigger question is how he has an 11th or 12th level PFS(2) character to be having his quandry.

Actually, that was done for blatantly illustrative purposes to starkly show a distinction between lists (at a high enough level so it would show the dilemma) and to avoid being told "just use another feat and ignore the staff" or "Divine spells are great you do not need a staff". I was actually a divine caster L6 with an arcane MCD looking to purchase a staff of evocation for damaging spells (and then upgrade along the way). Burning Hands is not a divine spell.

I was trying to illustrate two various scenarios associated with question (rather than asking one now and asking the other later)

1) Only have the MCD
2) Having Basic spellcasting

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

So, you recognize this issue is purely academic for at least the next year or so, and hardly prevents anyone from playing right now. Right?

The Exchange 1/5

Nefreet wrote:
So, you recognize this issue is purely academic for at least the next year or so, and hardly prevents anyone from playing right now. Right?

I am a L6 divine caster RIGHT NOW with a wizard MCD. I am Level 6 so I can buy the Staff of Evocation and was planning on buying it with the NEXT Chronicle sheet. So, no it is not academic.

Type staff of evocation; Level 6; Price 230 gp
• Cantrip ray of frost
• 1st magic missile, shocking grasp
• 2nd acid arrow, glitterdust

I had originally thought about the staff of Fire (which is where I conflated the burning hands) which I was going to buy at level 3 but held off. The question would have been just as applicable

Type staff of fire; Level 3; Price 60 gp
• Cantrip produce flame
• 1st burning hands

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/55/5 ****

Blake's Tiger wrote:

Back to staff:

Quote:
You can Cast a Spell from a staff only if you have that spell on your spell list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate level, and expend a number of charges from the staff equal to the spell’s level.

So that's different for a reason.

And I admit I don't know the answer, but saying a 12th level Wizard can cast Breath of Life spending only a 2nd level class feat vs. the 2nd, 4th, 12th level class feats and being 14th level it would normally require for a Wizard to cast Breath of Life seems out of tune. EDIT: Counterpoint to this is that it is comparatively very cheap to cast a 5th level spell off of a scroll without anything more than the 2nd level feat.

The point for staffs requiring the user to have have the appropriate level (which is spell level BTW, but I think we all understand that) is to provide the charges to the staff. To use the spell off the staff the character has to have it on their spell list.

So is the real question now is does a spellcasting MCD add all spells to the character's spell list? I swear I read that but I can't find where now.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/55/5 ****

Garulo wrote:
Burning Hands is not a divine spell.

While true, there are ways to get that spell (and fireball) added to a character's divine spell list.

2/5 5/5 **

Gary Bush wrote:
Blake's Tiger wrote:

Back to staff:

Quote:
You can Cast a Spell from a staff only if you have that spell on your spell list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate level, and expend a number of charges from the staff equal to the spell’s level.

So that's different for a reason.

And I admit I don't know the answer, but saying a 12th level Wizard can cast Breath of Life spending only a 2nd level class feat vs. the 2nd, 4th, 12th level class feats and being 14th level it would normally require for a Wizard to cast Breath of Life seems out of tune. EDIT: Counterpoint to this is that it is comparatively very cheap to cast a 5th level spell off of a scroll without anything more than the 2nd level feat.

The point for staffs requiring the user to have have the appropriate level (which is spell level BTW, but I think we all understand that) is to provide the charges to the staff. To use the spell off the staff the character has to have it on their spell list.

So is the real question now is does a spellcasting MCD add all spells to the character's spell list? I swear I read that but I can't find where now.

While not having specific bearing on the interpretation of cross tradition spell levels, I disagree with your interpretation that spell level is only for adding charges.

The sentence states right there

Quote:
You can Cast a Spell from a staff only if you have that spell on your spell list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate level, and expend a number of charges from the staff equal to the spell’s level.

It lists three things linked by "and."

1. Spell on your spell list
2. Able to cast spells of the desired spells level
3. Spend the number of charges equal to the spell's level

This is separate from the rules on charging a staff. You could (outside PFS) own a level 12 staff but only be able to cast level three spells and still charge up the staff with 3 free charges and cast the cantrip, 1st, 2nd, and 3rd spells without being able to cast the 4th and 5th level spells.

2/5 5/5 **

Gary Bush wrote:
So is the real question now is does a spellcasting MCD add all spells to the character's spell list? I swear I read that but I can't find where now.

I don't think that is a question.

Cleric MCD Feat wrote:
You can prepare two common cantrips each day from the divine spell list in this book or any other cantrips you learn or discover.
Druid MCD Feat wrote:
You can prepare two common cantrips each day from the primal spell list in this book or any other cantrips you learn or discover.
Sorcerer MCD Feat wrote:
You gain a spell repertoire with two common cantrips from the spell list associated with your bloodline, or any other cantrips you learn or discover.
Bard MCD Feat wrote:
You gain a spell repertoire with two common cantrips from the occult spell list, or any other cantrips you learn or discover.

Unless your argument is the list of spells from which you choose your spells is not the same thing as the spell list.

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Garulo wrote:
I am a L6 divine caster RIGHT NOW with a wizard MCD. I am Level 6 so I can buy the Staff of Evocation and was planning on buying it with the NEXT Chronicle sheet. So, no it is not academic.

Apologies. You should have mentioned that earlier. I was assuming this quote was accurate:

Blake's Tiger wrote:
He is a wizard or sorcerer with multiclass cleric dedication (2nd level feat) who wants to use a Level 12 Staff of Healing to cast 5th level breath of life with his 5th level arcane slots, which might be how it's supposed to work but I have might doubts, but my bigger question is how he has an 11th or 12th level PFS(2) character to be having his quandry.

Regarding your specific question and example, I'll give you my "How I'd rule it at my table" (FWIW):

I wouldn't let it work.

I admit I don't know much about the debate, or spellcasting in general, but many GMs won't either, so it comes down to conservative or liberal interpretations when you have nothing else to go off. Being able to cast divine spells and use an arcane staff seems wrong to me.

But that doesn't "break" your character. You still have a Level 6 character (congrats, btw, on stacking those Chronicles) who is obviously effective enough to get this far, and who you must have had fun playing without using a staff. Why shelve them now?

2/5 5/5 **

Yeah, apparently that was just a hypothetical instead of using his actual situation.

2/5 5/5 **

Quote:
Does Paizo still say they will answer questions on some twitch show?

Guess you could try Arcane Mark. Maybe others but I can't keep up with them.

If you do ever find a developer answer, point it out.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Sorry for reviving this older thread, the search function brought me here.

My question is at least somewhat related: As an otherwise non-arcane character with a wizard MCD (which gets me the cast a spell activity, a spell book, four cantrips, two cantrip "slots", and some other things, but no 1st-level spells), are all (common) arcane spells considered to be "on my list"?

That is, can I
a) cast a 1st-level (or higher) arcane spell off a scroll, and
b) attempt to scribe a 1st-level (or higher) arcane spell from a scroll or another friendly wizard's book into my spell book (in preparation for eventually being able to use them)?

1/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
albadeon wrote:

That is, can I

a) cast a 1st-level (or higher) arcane spell off a scroll, and
b) attempt to scribe a 1st-level (or higher) arcane spell from a scroll or another friendly wizard's book into my spell book (in preparation for eventually being able to use them)?

I believe the answer to both questions is yes.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Staff usage in PFS2 (not PFS1) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society